Forensic Mom

It’s been so long since I worked in forensic DNA, but I do keep up to date.  Occasionally I get to give lectures to schools.  I gave one lecture to a class of first year biology students at a university before, but I still prefer giving lectures to elementary school kids.  It’s so much more fun.

The forensic DNA talk I gave turned out well, and despite low lighting, overhead projector difficulties from time to time and a bad hair day.

Some (fuzzy) photos from the forensics talk.  I asked Mr. RSG to be my papperazzi. He doubled as my helper when I needed him.

This is a great DNA model.

Photobucket

Forensic evidence bag o’tricks.

Photobucket

Pretend evidence – I had a few types of mock evidence:  a blood tube, bloodstains on a mini-blanket, swabs and, hair and fiber evidence.  I’ll take pictures of them later and post them.

Photobucket

I’m sure I’m saying something really cool in this photo.

Photobucket

The talk went really well, I had a good time and I used great comedic timing whenever possible, ESPECIALLY when I made a mistake or I had a technical difficulty.  Works as a nice distraction and gives me breathing room.

I explained to them how DNA is tested in the forensic lab and how I help put criminals in jail and how I help other people who were wrongly convicted get out of jail with my tests.

One of the girls raised her hand and I thought it was a question.  Instead she said, “so, you’re like a hero ?!”  (I thought that was so nice).

Well, yeah, I guess I was.

The kids asked great questions and enjoyed the interactive approach – I passed around my visual aids so the kids got to see them close-up.

After my lecture, I asked them if they thought they wanted to be forensic scientists when they grew up.  I was tickled when about 8 of them (a lot of them girls) raised their hands enthusiastically.

I was really glad to hear a lot of the kids enjoyed the talk, and when I asked my daughter if I embarrassed her at all (which was a worry she had two days ago), she said “no” and she thought it was cool.

The teacher thought I did such a good job, we got to take the class rat home.
Photobucket

Actually the rat had nothing to do with the lecture.  We are rat sitting over the long winter break weekend.  They are doing an experiment with two rats at school.

This entry was posted in Biotech, combining science and motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Forensic Mom

  1. mysterycoach says:

    LOL 🙂 See? I would have enjoyed this… course you would have had to answer incessant questions and everything because I’m totally curious all the time. 🙂

  2. mysterycoach says:

    Boy, you have some very nice links on here … I’m having a ball! hee!

  3. Casey says:

    Oh, the questions would have been right up my alley. One of my most favorite parts of the laboratory was giving tours and answering questions. I loved to educate others on what we did. It was a wonderful thing.

    And thanks for looking around. I’m glad you are having fun.

Leave a Reply

