Research project on raising gifted children.

I just finished participating in an online research survey project from a clinical psychology Ph.D student in Australia who is conducting research on what it’s like to be a parent with one or more gifted children.  I thought I’d pass it along to my readers.

From her website (which I obtained through Hoagies’ Gifted Education), Natalie Rimlinger’s research is “about the everyday experience of raising gifted children” and says,

This survey has been designed to ask questions that haven’t been asked of parents/caregivers of gifted children before. It aims to explore various aspects of raising your gifted child such as your experience of being a parent/caregiver, your interactions with your child’s school, your worries or concerns, and your social support network.

As of August 16th, she had collected 197 responses from 9 countries. I have no idea when they will stop taking submissions, but if you are interested in participating and have at least one child identified as cognitively gifted and homeschooling parents of gifted students are able to participate.  You find out more information and can participate at Parents of Gifted Children.

I’m pretty excited about the project. I’m also interested in the results when they are complete, so if all goes well, I’ll be contacted with the results when they are completed.

On another note, sometimes I get contacted by the most interesting people through my blogs.  I was recently contacted by a TV production company about a new cable TV series about raising gifted/talented kids.

Do you pride yourself on being heavily involved in your child’s activities? Do you feel that your children are gifted with superior abilities in sports and/or the performing arts? Are you, without question, your child’s biggest cheerleader? Will you go above and beyond to make sure that your child can achieve his or her dreams? Have you and your friends bonded over a shared passion for your children’s activities?
.
If this sounds like you, and you have elementary and/or middle school-aged children, we want to hear from you!

.

A new television docuseries is seeking a passionate, dynamic group of Moms that we can follow in their pursuit of their children’s excellence! Raising an exceptional kid is hard work, and this series aims to capture the ups and downs, the triumphs and the losses, and the camaraderie that passionate and extremely involved mothers of gifted children share.

While at first blush it seemed like a great opportunity…after really reading what they were focusing on (the extreme involvement) and after I pondered it, it sounded more like they were looking for extreme parenting of the gifted and talented variety.  Not my cuppa tea (though it might be yours).

I’m so not that. While I might be slightly anxious about my own daughters development, I let them take the initiative and wait for them to come to me to ask if they can try out their interests (some of which are passing fancies).  Yes, I am concerned about my children’s education and opportunities, but our relatively laid-back approach will HOPEFULLY not create kids that are solely focused on achievement, but on developing into caring, compassionate, emotionally-grounded adults, regardless of what they achieve.

Though, with both me and my husband STILL unemployed, it was almost tempting. But nah, we are not so desperate for money that we’d sell ourselves out to be national television entertainment fodder.

I’m not entirely sure they are still doing casting for this series, but if you are seriously interested, you could email me at raisingsmartgirls@yahoo.com.  I’d forward you the email.  And come back and let me know if you got selected because then we’d look for you on TV.  🙂

This entry was posted in gifted children. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Research project on raising gifted children.

  1. Phil says:

    I’d be interested in the results of the survey too when they arrive, so I hope the researcher will allow you to share them here. The “Reality” show opportunity sounds intriguing, but I think you nailed it on the head. They are not really looking to document as much as they are looking to entertain with drama and wild characterizations of overzealous parents. Well, at least that is how it appears to me, given the current slate of shows pouring through the TV screen.

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    That’s kind of what I’m thinking…along the lines of Toddlers and Tiaras…or something.

    I will certainly share the results if I’m able to. I know that research is done in two parts…the survey…and an interview if they select you for more information. They’d let us know if it gets published, and if it does, then for sure I don’t see a problem with sharing the results here. That would be really interesting.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

