Dusting off my resume

I got a phone call from my mother because she read in the paper that my old company is starting plans to build a new larger facility close to my home. I am 7 years out of date from any scientific training.

Fortunately, I still know someone who works there.  Actually, I know a few people who work there.

If I get my foot in the door, get some retraining, do well, I would be in a good position again and with my background, I could really be (dare I say it?) moderately successful again.

I am a little apprehensive, but I am…well…I used to be, one of those ‘fake it til you make it’ types of people.

Can I be that way again?

Sure I can.

This entry was posted in career, combining science and motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dusting off my resume

  1. Spacemom says:

    I am also cleaning up and re-writing my CV. Time to make some changes.
    I am sure you can do this! 🙂

    Life finds a way!

    • raisingsmartgirls says:

      Thanks, Spacemom –

      I spent time with a woman I knew from college who was also in my field who was laid off in January. She and I talked for about 2 hours about different laboratories around here (and boy was it great to talk about biology for a change). There aren’t many, but there are a couple of places.

      Good luck with your changes too!

  2. Mom Gail says:

    Hi Honey,
    I’m sorry it took so long to write. I have all the faith in the world in you. You can do anything that you put your mind to. I was sorry to read that you & hubby had such a big blow-up. It’s very hard on a couple when both parties are out of work and only money going out, & none coming in. Your dad & I went through that many years ago. It was not a real great time in our lives, but it made us stronger & more committed to each other knowing that together we could get through anything. today, we are living proof of that.
    Have faith in yourself & know that this too shall pass. We love you all very much. I hope K is doing better with her palate expander. Give everyone our love & know that you are all in our thought & prayers, always.
    I believe in you.
    Love mom Gail

  3. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Mom Gail –

    Thanks,

    Don’t worry about just getting back to me. I’ve been busy reorganizing things in the house, decluttering big-time because I want to be ready if/when I find a job again, and also to find my old procedures manuals so that I can brush up on at least what I used to know. I am eager to make these changes.

    And the girls are going to grandma’s (J’s mom) this weekend, so, we’ll have some time to ourselves and to plan a little for the future.

    I believe in me, too. 🙂

    Oh, yeah, K’s doing fine with her palate expander. No more cranking it at night, and she just needs to wear it for about 10 more weeks, then she’ll get a retainer put in.

  4. Fran says:

    so………..how is the job hunt going? Thinking positive thoughts for you.

  5. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Dragging my heels. 😦

    On the other hand. I might be inclined to pursue my writing again.

    http://growinginpeace.wordpress.com/2011/04/19/young-authors-conference/

Leave a Reply

