Dr. Kay Jamison on Exuberance.

I thought this was a very cool, almost hourlong presentation about Exuberance, The Passion for Life on Youtube from Dr. Kay Jamison.  She has a great Q & A followup at the end for parents and teachers.

If you made it through the video, what did you think?

This entry was posted in creativity, exuberance, imagination, mood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dr. Kay Jamison on Exuberance.

  1. Phil says:

    Hi there, I am reading your posts and I’d like to give you some thoughts, I have a 5 year old son with SM and SPD and OCD (and a 3years old daughter a little sunshine in pink).
    First thing that I can tell you is nothing is your fault, our kids are born like that and nothing could have changed it. it is tough some days but most of the kids with those syndromes are gifted! in life evryone is good at something you just need to find what DD2 is extremely good at and follow that route it will give her confidence (it won’t make her talk but she won’t grow up thinking she is not adequate socialy)
    I had SM and Spd as a kid but I learnt to challenge it and I am living the dream in Whistler Canada I travelled the world, had a lot of beautifull girlfriends and very successeful in my career.
    I am sure my son and your daughter will be wonderfull adults because they have that gift to be “aware” of everything as they observe a lot and process all the informations deeper than usual.
    Your story reminds me mine with my son and I am sure tons of parents feel the same.
    We are not alone this not our faults and our kids will be just fine (I am more worry for my daughter when teenager time come I know deep inside my son will be fine)
    Phil

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thank you Phil –

    I appreciate your kind thoughts. I don’t think you have read all of the posts, because my daughter had started speaking about 18 months after her diagnosis. We had taken a multi-faceted approach to her treatment and it seemed to work (without medications). We had a caring, supportive staff at school – it helped that I enrolled her in a special needs preschool attached to the elementary school she was to attend. And the special needs preschool teacher actually really paid attention to her needing challenging work to do, so along with sensory play she got a lot of (especially the trampoline which helped her between activities), she was also being given more challenging work to do. I really appreciated that they took care of both of her needs.

    Now, the challenge is not about the anxiety, but all the OTHER challenges raising a highly gifted child…who needs to be learning and doing something all the time.

Leave a Reply

