Fabulous TED Talks About Creativity and Education from Sir Ken Robinson

If you haven’t seen these videos from Sir Ken Robinson, I highly recommend that you do.  I saw his recent book The Element: How Finding Your Passion Changes Everything at the bookstore yesterday and…I passed on it.  I actually inwardly grimaced at the title, getting a little negative association to another book called, “The Secret” which I have not read but have seen parodied.  I thought – great, another someone selling empty promises.

[Yes, yes, bad Casey.   I’m probably just jealous because it’s yet ANOTHER book published without my name on it…LOL].

Today,  I visited Lisa Rivero’s blog Everyday Intensity and where she posted about him and she shared some of his links and TED talks.  I realized…seeing a reference to a person twice in 24 hours usually means I ought to take note.  I also realized I shouldn’t judge a book by its title.

Schools Kill Creativity

Bring on the Learning Revolution

Changing Education Paradigms

And…well, I can’t help it.  I love this man.  Truly.  Not just because he’s humorous and British (and I do like that), but that he’s got valid points.  I have heard these concepts before (does John Holt ring a bell to anyone besides me?).  But…well, I think we need more people like Ken Robinson pushing the word that our public schools don’t need more reform, but a complete overhaul, a revolution, a transformation from the industrial/fast food model of education to more of an individualized learning plan for all children.

Yes, well, I totally agree with Sir Ken, even before I had heard his TED talks.   Sadly, I permanently peeved off my best friend of more than 20 years because of my views against public education (yes, even though I do send my kids to public school.  I still take issue with it).  He was rather upset with me (for that and a few other reasons, but that was one of the ‘last straws’) because he is a teacher and he didn’t agree with me on what I was trying to tell him.  I wasn’t attacking him…but the system he was a part of.   I actually thought he was one of the hardest working teachers, and one of the more creative ones.  But his hands were still tied.  Not that it really mattered.  Sometimes it is hard to realize you are part of a system designed to fail more kids than it serves no matter how hard you try to do it right.

At any rate, I hope more people become aware of the importance of creativity within the school system.  As Sir Ken pointed out, it is highly important to preserve our human resources and help our children flourish in their natural abilities and not have the school system squelch their creativity.  It’s in our world’s best interest to do so.

This entry was posted in creativity, education. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fabulous TED Talks About Creativity and Education from Sir Ken Robinson

  1. Lisa says:

    Casey, what a privilege to have introduced someone to Ken Robinson’s work! I chuckled when I read your reaction to the title of his book, because I don’t think it’s at all the best title that could have been chosen (and I know that titles aren’t always chosen by the authors themselves). I see how someone unfamiliar with the content could assume it’s something akin to The Secret.

    ~ Lisa

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Lisa –

    Thanks so much! I spent the morning yesterday poring over the videos, and reading some of his articles and downloading some of his materials onto my computer. I also sent the links to a friend of mine with a highly energetic and imaginative daughter who seems to be headed for a ADHD diagnosis. I truly hope these talks will give the parents a second thought about medicating away their daughter’s creative energy.

    Sadly, sometimes I’m too much of a skeptic. I try to be discerning when I buy books, otherwise I’d probably have twice as many as I do now.

  3. Rick says:

    I can remember learning how the American school system was modeled off of the late 1800s factory, when going through teacher ed long, long ago (face a wall, sit when the bell rings, go through the assembly line and make yourself a productive citizen/worker).

    Incredibly depressing. No wonder smart kids hate school even more than the dumb ones.

    Good stuff! Makes me want to teach again. Just not in a school. 🙂

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Oh, yeah, definitely, teaching ROCKS!

    I’d do it too, if I could do it MY way…

    Sadly, I wouldn’t be able to…so it’s the last thing I’d want to do.

  5. Pingback: I Want to Learn About …

Leave a Reply

