Studying gifted issues.

I thought I’d update for those interested…

I’m not posting as much on this blog because I’m engaging in educating myself on gifted issues and Dabrowski’s Theory of Positive Disintegration. I hope to come up with a few post topics regarding this…but in the meantime…it’s a bit intense and draining.

I finally got the book Gifted Children: A Guide for Parents and Professionals by Kate Distin from the library today. I hope to find it’s worthwhile. I’m most interested in family dynamics and emotional development of the gifted child.

Tonight I’ll be going to the school with oldest daughter because they are having an Educate the Parents night about improving writing techniques. It’s not necessarily a gifted program…but it’s open to all parents to help improve writing skills in all grade levels. If there’s anything interesting/novel in the approaches, I’ll be back to talk about them too.

So…well…I can’t think of a closing thought (a little brain-fried).

Be back soon.

****

update –

I wrote about what I learned yesterday at the writing workshop on my other blog The Wonder Years (my general education blog that I’ve neglected far too long). Ironically enough, for all the writing I do, I have long forgotten ‘how to’ write. So in addition to learning how to help my girls and know what they will be learning in school with regards to writing (not just the nuts and bolts of punctuation, grammar and spelling), but they will learn about ideas, organization, voice (emotions), word choice (vocabulary), sentence fluency, and those boring conventions of punctuation and grammar and capitalization. The presenter was a visual-spatial learner herself and it was good to hear her talk about reaching the visual-spatial learners by associating pictures or props to assist with learning the concepts.

This entry was posted in education, gifted support. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Studying gifted issues.

  1. I find that research draining too.

    I found you last year when I took a dive into that world, and other then deciding, “that’s probably me” to “explain a lot” I quit there and moved on.

    But that’s mostly because I talk about most everything I research, and I perceived I was making people uncomfortable with my talk. It seems that I cannot talk about my tremendous *relief* at being normal (for one population at least) without conveying my superiority. {confused face}

    This is particularly disappointing because I think most of the people I interact with are also gifted (as in smarter than average– I don’t think I’m smarter than most of them), they just aren’t *driven* like me. And as Christians, they value contentment and quietness a great deal. (I do too, but in the way I value virtue: a goal to pursue, not something I expect to attain perfectly.)

    So I’ve not pursued any testing or even further research (though I’ll be fascinated to read any summaries you compile) because for now it is (or has to be) enough just to know for me.

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Hi, Amy Jane.

    Yes, I do think that the combination of intensity, complexity and drive along with intelligence makes one a bit quirky (to put it mildly).

    I empathize with you on that count. And…I can also empathize as one who is from a Christian background myself. I am trying to make room for spiritual AND intellectual growth. Right now…it seems that they have to be a little compartmentalized. I believe AND I question doctrine but I can’t let any Christian person know that. It doesn’t help that I’ve been a ping-pong between my Catholic family and husbands Baptist family and we now attend what I think is a Calvinist Church, but I have a very intelligent and driven friend who wants me to attend her church (some sort of Reformed Church) but my girls don’t want us to leave the church we have because they have a very cool children’s program for them. Makes me fairly dizzy.

    At the same time…in order to keep my mental faculties sharp and learn more about myself, I read philosophers and psychologists who themselves might not be Christian.

    I’m having a dialogue with Bill Tillier who was a student of Dabrowski’s who is helping me to understand his concepts. What complicates the matters is that his theories are being a somewhat diluted and distorted from his original intent by others who are doing the interpreting. But I’m gaining some insight…AND it’s good to know where modern interpretations of his theory drifts from his original intent.

    It might take me some time to get it right…OR I might just give a brief overview with a link to Mr. Tillier’s website, which might be better than anything I could come up with.

  3. Spacemom says:

    Good luck. I’ve decided that the best I can do, for now, is to learn what I can to help my girls and to teach them to not worry about grades, but the satisfaction of learning. The family dynamics are odd. It is more how their intellect affects their views of the world and themselves rather than other issues….

    Keep us updated.

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    No…I’m not worried about grades. I don’t care about grades…or the state standards either. It’s just since I myself love writing so much, yet write more informally (and have forgotten most of what I learned in school about writing) , I think it’s great that they want to set a good foundation for quality writing…not just grammar, punctuation and proper capitalization. The speaker was quite humorous and very enthusiastic about what gives good writing its sparkle and how to encourage the kids so that they know 1) what makes it good 2) how to make it better and 3) enjoy the process. She even gave tips on how to lay the foundation for kindergarten children who write in pictures. I have a kindergartner too, so now I know what to point out to her and remark on when she asks me “do you like my picture mommy?” I know to pay attention to the details…and ask her what story her picture is telling me, and even ask her to draw a picture of what came before and what came after – like a 3-pane cartoon.

    It was way cool. My oldest went with me…and she enjoyed it.

    Our family dynamics are really hard. We have some seriously sensitive children and we are challenged daily. My middle child ALSO has the psychomotor over-excitabilities and she is constantly chattering, humming, singing, talking – when she’s not melting down.

    It’s rough.

  5. It’s interesting to hear you describe family dynamics.

    I’m the sort of person who tends not to remember the negitive if I’m not in the midst of it, and right now (because of environmental stressors- and parent busyness) we’re going through one of those more-sensitive times.

    My kids are “letting” things bother them that they usually “suffer in silence” and having this designation (of highly sensitive) has helped me be less-reactive than I might otherwise be. It’s a good thing.

    It also made me think of how much environment seems to affect my kids, and made me (again) resolve to strive for order in our home-life, wondering if that could be our missing link.

  6. raisingsmartgirls says:

    No, it has less to do with structure and more to do with the emotional immaturity of their parents.

    Mr. RSG wants instant obedience. I’m more laid-back. Mr. RSG is more prone to intimdation first, I’m more apt to use empathy (though sometimes I have a short fuse). I get angry at Mr. RSG’s responses. We fight. I’m angry and resentful for a number of reasons. I can’t get past it sometimes.

    I know the right way to behave, and I’m struggling with it. Mr. RSG may or may not know the right way to behave.

    Mr. RSG is again without a job. It’s only going to get worse.

  7. Oh! I’m sorry– I didn’t mean to imply it was *your* lack of structure that is a problem, just trying to diagnose ours.

  8. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Actually, it’s okay. There is a definite lack of structure ALSO…but it’s secondary to the stress we have.

    And…then the hyper-senstivities of the kids and adults. And…the fact that two of them are accident prone.

    And one child is LOUD…even when ‘happy’.

    It’s frustrating…I keep hoping a miracle will happen.

  9. Manal says:

    Just wanted to say I’m here, too.

    I have found a new(ish) site giftedforlife.com has some good articles…makes me feel less ‘weird’…

    we too are a family of hsp/gifted/high-anxiety and likely 1, and possibly 2 of my 4 with selective mutism. Navigating and praying and doing my best..that’s all I have..

  10. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Manal-

    Thanks so much for your comment and sharing the new site. I’ll have to check it out.

    You know then what it’s like sometimes to have a whole house full of HSPs…good luck to both of us then.

    Sometimes I feel less ‘weird’ when I watch House, M.D.

    Many Blessings to you and yours.

    Casey.

Leave a Reply

