For this I am thankful

I woke up this morning and I turned to look into the deep blue eyes of my husband. He said he’d been watching me for a few minutes. He had a smile on his face. And I saw something underneath the surface of his face. Pure, radiant joy.

I asked him why he was smiling at me. He said, “Because I think you are beautiful…and I’m going to make sure I tell you more often.”

I’m thankful he’s remembering that I need a little verbal appreciation to feel cherished.

***

When my husband got out of bed, our youngest daughter climbed up into bed, and right up on top of me, and gave me the biggest hug and kiss and said, “I love you mommy, Happy Thanksgiving”. Then she ran off to go watch TV.

I’m thankful for the sweet, sweet love of my children.

***

My husband baked bread from scratch with my oldest daughter this morning. Yeah, he just wanted to. He’s an amazing dad.

I am thankful for my husband and the family I have.

Even though it’s sometimes far from ideal.

We fight, the girls bicker, we all complain sometimes.

We forget to soften our words when we feel slighted.

We sometimes forget to bend a little.

We sometimes don’t want to forgive.

But we do…always committed to trying get it right, no matter how many times we get it wrong.

And I’m SO thankful for that.

***

I am thankful for the wonderful opportunity to see my dad and my stepmother in July of this year. I hadn’t seen them in 29 years.

I am thankful my girls loved their grandpa and grandma on sight.

***

I just got a text from my friend P, my friend since we were was 18 (we are both 40 now).

Him: Happy Thanksgiving.

Me: I’m glad you’re my friend. Happy Thanksgiving back.

Him: Your friend forever.

Me: I’ll hold you to that.

Him: I know you will.

I’m so thankful for all my friends…even the ones who’ve stayed in my life for only a season.

***

My neighbor across the street gave my husband a business card of someone he did work for a few weeks back. My neighbor knew he was laid off.

He said, “I’m not sure if you’d be interested, but check them out”.

My husband starts work November 29th.

I’m thankful for my neighbors…because sometimes they can be such angels in disguise.

***

My youngest daughter (5) said to the teacher’s aide, “Can you give me a more challenging baggie book?” (you go girl!), and she came home with something more challenging to read.

I’m thankful that the school has been so cooperative over the years in trying to meet my daughters’ needs.

***

There’s so much more I am thankful for…but I’ve run out of time to list them all.

Happy Thanksgiving.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to For this I am thankful

  1. Rick says:

    Yep. Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Great Family + Great Friends = Great Life.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

