I’m trying again – NaNoWriMo

I’ve decided to put aside my fears and doubts once again and rise to the challenge of NaNoWriMo.

Last year I got through 15,000 words before M’s former teacher Mrs. P died and the wind was taken right out of my sails.  My novel last year was about my life in the crime lab.  It wasn’t a good novel.  It was 29 pages of self-indulgent semi-autobiographical crap…but that’s beside the point.   It was kind of fun while it lasted.  For a while, I felt like I was a WRITER.

This year is going to be better.  Much, much more indulgent and much more fun for me.   There is a romantic element to it, yet more important than the actual romance between the two broken souls that found each other, is the journey to SELF the two characters embark on.  I’m not even sure at this point if there will be a happy ending, but there will be a few definite life-changing self-discoveries for them both.

If you’ve ever read anything of Paulo Coelho’s work, I’m kind of leaning towards the vibe I get from reading his works.

It’s going to be definitely a pleasure to do, I think.

Oh, yeah, I’ve gotten through the first 1700 words in about 3 hours.  And its not too bad.  I only have to maintain 1667 words a day to keep up.  I will write more than the minimum a day to make sure I have enough time to finish and submit it to NaNo’s word count.

I WILL finish it this year.

This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m trying again – NaNoWriMo

  1. Mom Gail says:

    Hi honey,
    Good luck . Is hubby going to try too? I want to read it. I Love you sorry this is so short but my neck is in spasm right now

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    I don’t know about hubby. I wish he would. He started one last year too and it was kind of good.

    I’m sorry you aren’t doing so well. I know all about sore necks.

    I can’t promise the story is any good…it’s mostly to get something out of my system that’s been difficult to do.

  3. Rick says:

    I tend to do well at the start, then give up/get bored — and, I figure if I’m bored, the reader will be, too. Maybe I’ll try this nano-novel stuff.

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Na-No novel stuff is all about belting it out. It’s probably going to be crap…but it’s supposed to be fun crap. And, free to not be critical of ones’ own work, lots of times you end up composing some real interesting parts.

    I am having fun with it.

    • Muguet says:

      I’m trying it for the first time this year, too. I’m doing it as a Rebel, though, since I won’t be writing fiction. What’s your screen name on NaNo? (unless you don’t want to share, which is fine!)

      • raisingsmartgirls says:

        No, it’s not a secret. My screen name is Sciencemama.

        Rebelling is great. I see no reason to stick to the rules quite so rigidly. I’m doing a semi-autobiographical novel. So it’s only half fiction, and it really doesn’t fall into a category.

  5. Spacemom says:

    I am trying to… This year is working much better now that I am doing fiction instead of my life pretending to be fiction.

    And my main character? Has selective Mutism!

    • raisingsmartgirls says:

      Oh, that’s awesome!

      One of these days I’m going to be writing about my daughters SM in a story format. I have taken some notes for it, and I have the stuff on the blog that will make up some of it. But I want to make it more of a cohesive narrative.

      If I can get through this month and complete my story, I’m going to be working on that next.

      Eventually I’ll go back to my NaNo novel from LAST year, and clean it up and finish it too.

      I have to say, I’m really having a blast. I feel wonderful and I think I’m going to learn something through this process.

Leave a Reply

