Canned

Well…

I guess we join the ranks of the nation’s unemployed.

Mr. RSG, a mechanical engineer, got laid off today.  Not for doing bad work, but because the company needed to reduce headcount.  We are actually surprised when Mr. RSG made it through the previous 2 rounds of layoffs.

We are glad in a way, because that job was killing him, literally.  He was popping Xanax for panic attacks.

Fate stepped in and relieved him.

He’s getting a small severance package, so that’s a plus.

So, as I told him before if this should happen, that I’d dust my resume off and we’d both start applying for jobs.

This wasn’t the first time in our marriage life handed us difficulties or that he got laid off.  We adjusted well enough then, and we’ll weather this time too.

I have some options around here that I didn’t know existed before last December and I’ll have Mr RSG peruse those articles I collected on What to do if you get laid off last December (so yeah, him getting laid off isn’t totally unexpected).

Girls will be gone to camp Grandma this weekend, so Mr. RSG and I will have some time to strategize.

Wish us luck.

This entry was posted in career, layoff. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Canned

  1. I’m sorry to read this news. Glad you were somewhat prepared for this, but that doesn’t make it any less of a challenge.

    Hope the strategy session is productive!

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thanks Margaret.

    We stopped over to the library last night and checked out a set of books – a couple of Po Bronson’s books, including his Nurtureshock and What Should I Do With My Life? Which isn’t so much a how-to book as it is a collection of real life experiences of others who discovered and went after the work that gave them a real purpose and deep satisfaction – most times these people had come through some bad times in order to discover what to make of their lives. They weren’t all success stories, or about people who made a ton of money, but who really found out who they were and how to set aside their fears to move forward and creating a life they loved that still paid the bills.

    Mr. RSG also found a few books too – Comeback Moms: How to Leave Work Raise Children and Restart Your Career Even If You Haven’t Had a Job in Years for me and Landing On The Right Side of Your Ass: A Survival Guide For The Recently Unemployed for him.

    We’ll start off the day dropping the kids off, going for a walk, coming home and having a good breakfast, and plotting the job hunting thing.

    I think the blessing out of all of this will be getting the chance to work together on our marriage and goals for the family. We kept periodically having arguments because he was so stressed out and it was affecting his temperament.

    So, yeah…I think things will be all right.

  3. Craig Maciolek says:

    Wahoo!!! Nothing wrong with a little unexpected vacation. It’s like finding an extra $20 in your pocket. Be sure, in the process of changing course, to leave a little time for blowing off steam and having fun. I have been down that road… where the worry about the next step is so powerful that I put all my energy into finding another job, then I looked back and wished I had taken a little more advantage of the opportunity.

    So, good luck and have fun,
    Craig

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    You know, after having lots of interesting conversations with some individuals who’ve dropped out of the hamster-wheel world of work, I’ve gotten quite a broader perspective on the matter.

    We really aren’t troubled. Knowing how much misery Mr. RSG was in, knowing how much stress it was putting on our relationship, having the forced “leave of absence” is actually quite a blessing.

    Having been through this before, knowing what to expect kind of relieves us of the fear. Most of what keeps us from moving forward with the right decisions for our lives is holding onto the fear of the unknown. I keep coming back to the idea that the conventional ideas of the American Dream are only for those who are afraid to take risks.

    We aren’t totally rushing headlong into having to jump at just any old job. I think we will be having some fun while we determine what’s next on our path. We are definitely in a great position to learn more about each other and ourselves since we will be having loads of time to talk.

    He did say now he’d have time to tackle NaNoWriMo – he tried last year but only got a few thousand words in.

  5. Mom Gail says:

    Hi Honey,
    I’m sure that this wrinkle in the road is a blessing in diguise, for all of you. I was concerned about hubby’s panic attacks & the Xanex, but by being relived of the stress of his job, I think those will dissapate. I wish there was something i could do to help, but all I can do is pray. I find that it calms my spirit and I don’t go off the deep end.You’re right, this will give you time to work on your marriage. I know that when your we have had our backs up against the wall, we worked harder together to make it through. It solidified our marriage, because we were a team “against the world”. Fortunately for you, you both have a good education. Don’t let it go to waste. Use it!! Search for the thing that will not only bring in an income, but will fill you with the knowledge that you actually like what you do, and are good at it. I have to go now, I’ll call you soon. Enjoy the time you have together, discover each other again.
    I love you. Give hugs and kisses to the girls & tell them that grandma gail loves & misses them Give our son a big hug and kiss from us.

    Love Mom Gail & Dad

  6. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Mom Gail –

    I know you are so right. We are quite relieved that he does not have to live like he was anymore. I know a bit how he feels, because I was having those types of panic attacks those last few weeks at the crime lab. Getting laid off WAS a blessing in disguise.

    I will be looking forward to your call because I have some catching up to do.

    I will pass along the kisses, hugs and love.

  7. Rick says:

    They got me on the ninth round of layoffs (really) — one every quarter, for two years. It was Hell. I completely sympathize. It sucks, sucks, sucks.

  8. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Wow. That must have been nerve-wracking as hell. We squeaked by for probably a year and a half…I think.

    Mr RSG went to urgent care because I thought he had a blood clot in his leg – turns out it was a close cousin – it was phlebitis, an inflammation of a vein and could be a side effect of the meds he’s been on (just recently started Zoloft in addition to the Xanax).

    We took a long walk today with the dog, had a nice talk, made some bacon (cause everything is better with bacon – even a layoff!) and experimented on some homemade cornbread.

    I think we’ll be all right.

  9. Spacemom says:

    UGh,
    Sorry about the added stress… just what you guys need..

  10. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thanks Spacemom,

    Life without challenge is boring, no?

Leave a Reply

