Happy Birthday to Me!

I’m officially 40 today.

I’m in Colorado right now with Mr. RSG and the smart girls.  Hopefully we’ll upload some pictures soon.

The train ride during the day was marvelous, but during the night we were frozen and Mr. RSG and I couldn’t sleep because while we packed blankets for the girls, we forgot some for ourselves.

And since we were in one of the last cars, they ran out of dining reservations so we ended up eating some very bad microwaved food from the snack bar.  I was upset about that.  We’ll make sure to pack some sandwiches for the return trip in case the same thing happens again.

After an 18 hour train ride, and a 2 hour car ride after that (with a quick stop in Colorado Springs), we arrived at our hotel at 1 pm yesterday.  And we got our room upgraded for free to a suite…which was an absolute blessing since we have 2 rooms instead of one, and a kitchen with a full size fridge.  Awesome!

After a nap, I was tearfully reunited with my dad and stepmother.  We spent a very low key dinner with them reminiscing, eating pizza and laughing.  The girls warmed up to them wonderfully.  I was so touched with how many hugs they gave my stepmom.  It’s as if they’ve known them all their lives, even though they just met.  But she just exhibits a lot of warmth and kindness.

(So unlike my own mom).

And then afterward, we went back to our hotel and went swimming in the indoor/outdoor pool – which was very clean and the water was warm (after all it was 104 during the day).  It was a relaxing way to end the day.

I’m not sure what we will do during the day today (maybe take in the children’s museum)…but we are spending my birthday in the Pueblo Zoo…a picnic dinner with my fstep-aunts, my stepmother and dad.

Later this week we’ll see the Royal Gorge, and a Wild West town.

I think this is going to be the best thing I could have done for us.

This entry was posted in Fantastic field trips, my stories. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Happy Birthday to Me!

  1. Rick says:

    Awesome! Fun!

  2. So Over says:

    Happy, happy, happy birthday Casey!!!! So glad that your trip is going well! Enjoy your time with Mr. RSG, the girls and your Dad and Step mom.

  3. Papa T says:

    Happy Birthday, Mrs. RSG!!!

    Glad y’all are havin’ fun, ma’am.

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thanks everyone!

    I’m back at the hotel, taking a rest. We came back from downtown Pueblo, after we went to the Buell Children’s museum, then lunch, then the Riverwalk…which is beautiful and serene.

    I’m trying to send some photos to my computer from my camera, but for some reason, I’ve received only one. I’m a little disappointed.

  5. Lisa Gale says:

    Happy belated birthday! Just found your blog today; must say that you feel like such a kindred sister. You will LOVE this side of forty…somehow you’re able to get more comfortable with feeling uncomfortable in your own skin ;-)).

  6. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Lisa –

    Thanks so much for your birthday wishes (I’ll take any wishes – belated or not). I checked out your blog and I really love your writing style and actually, have been wishing to write in a similar way…but haven’t because my analytical side far too often takes over my creative side.

    Anyway, I have to go lay down, because we just got back from our trip from Colorado and I’m really dizzy and not feeling too comfortable at the moment.

    peace.

  7. Lisa Gale says:

    Hello, fellow smart mom :-)!

    I wonder if any of your smart girls are between 6-8, or between 10-12?? I’m looking for two volunteers for the new KidCreation Blueprint Session, as it’s a brand new experience for me…blueprinting kids. Have a look on the website and see if you’re interested…free session.

    As for your writing, I love it! Keep the analytical, just make a little more room for the creative…you’ll enjoy it! xxx

  8. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thank you so much for enjoying my writing, Lisa.

    My middle daughter is 6 and my oldest is 8. I am going to be busy this morning, taking the younger two to their final session of an Junior Earthlings Environmental camp today. But I will check out your website, this afternoon!

Leave a Reply

