Swinging on my last nerve

The smart girls have been incredibly obnoxious lately. Or they’ve been their regular selves but I’ve just been more sensitive to it these days.

“Mo-o-om! She’s giving me angry faces…”

“Mom! She hurt/kicked/scratched/touched me”

“Mom! She won’t play with me”

“Mom! She won’t leave me alone.”

“Mom! They keep messing up my room”

“Mom! Can I have a stick of gum/piece of candy/freeze pop?”

“Mom! I dropped my gum on the floor. Can I have another?”

“Mom, can we do ____________ this summer?”

“Mom, do you know where my ______________ is?”

“Mom, can I watch TV/play video games/play computer games?”

“Mom! I have a growing pain/my head hurts/I got hurt”

“Mom! She took my chair/spot on the couch.”

“Mom! I was still using that and she took it”

“Mom – I’m done!” (no less than 4 poopie heinie wipes a day).

“Aaahhh!” (A short, shrill shriek – no less than 8 times a day)

Non-stop prattle almost ALL. DAY. LONG.

We can NOT go a meal without dawdling/jumping up and down from the table/whining about who sits where.

Meltdowns.

Tears.

Gnashing of teeth.

Overwhelmed.

Snapping every 32 minutes.

Please make it stop!

So much for my attempts at being the epitome of tranquility amidst the storms.

Worst…mom…ever…

(okay maybe not, but it sure feels that way).

This entry was posted in highly sensitive mom, Intensity, meltdowns, motherhood, personal issues, spd. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Swinging on my last nerve

  1. Shannon says:

    The book Easy to Love, Difficult to Discipline really helped around here:

    http://www.amazon.com/Easy-Love-Difficult-Discipline-Cooperation/dp/0060007753

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Shannon –

    Thanks for the book recommendation. I’ve been feeling very overwhelmed lately.

    After I wrote these recent posts, I went to a garage sale and bought a book there called The Good Enough Child: How to Have an Imperfect Family and Be Perfectly Satisfied, by Brad E. Sachs, Ph.D. He’s a family psychologist and its helping me understand some things better.

    I’m pretty sure I have ETDTD on my bookshelf. I worked with it some, then when things were improving, I put it aside. Since I’m getting overwhelmed again, it’s time to pull it back out.
    *****
    I spent some time re-connecting with 2 of the girls kids yesterday – took my youngest to breakfast while the other two were in school, and then took the two younger girls to the bookstore and spent time with middle daughter in my lap while we both read books (I read the Good Enough Child and she read Diary of a Wimpy Kid).

    In the evening, the girls had a much better time of things. I think their tanks were getting a little low and needed some positive contact with me.

    And…because I’m frequently too sensitive to things and I forget to take care of me…it sort of trickles downhill into frustrations for all of us.

  3. raisingsmartgirls says:

    By the way, your daughter is adorable!

  4. Shannon says:

    Thank you.

    I really liked ETDTD because it helped me be a lot calmer. If Good Enough Child is really great, let me know and I’ll try to grab a copy. I am always on the look out for good parenting books. I can certainly use all the help I can get. 🙂

  5. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Shannon – I’ll let you know about the Good Enough Child. I’m really liking it a lot so far. I’m strapped for time to tell you why I like it, but I’ll post back later.

Leave a Reply

