Crazy bird lady

Yes, I guess that would be me.

I don’t spend enough time outdoors, because the weather is still pretty goofy here in the midwest. Sometimes warm, sometimes cold, and sometimes wet. But even on crummy days, like today, I try to get outside and watch my birds.

Between yesterday and today, I spent about a hour observing my wild birds in between the rains.

I noticed a few juvenile robins yesterday and one was perched on our fence. I was able to get up real close to take this picture. He was still unsteady with his usage of his wings, presumably a fledgeling, because he did not fly away for about 10 minutes while I snapped photographs of him. I was intrigued.

Photobucket

Amateur bird watcher that I am, at first, I didn’t even realize it was a young robin, but thought it was a different bird with similar markings. But then, I realized it was when I saw his parent come by to drop a tasty worm into its mouth.

Photobucket

Well, duh…of course.

And then I after I got closer to the juvenile robin, I noticed another one on the ground not too far away. I realized then that the nest must be somewhere close by, and that explains why Mr. RSG found half a robin’s egg while mowing the lawn last week. We have a nest under our deck, but after checking it for weeks now, I realize that our Shetland sheepdog must be keeping birds from actually using it again this year.

So I kept looking, and sure enough…I found what I was looking for, the robin’s nest formed at the top of the fenceposts of the house next door.

Photobucket

Crafty little buggers.

I’m rather sad that I missed the eggs…but now that I know there’s a nest there, I will have to keep checking back. Maybe there will be another clutch of eggs laid later this year (I hope).

About the same time, I was able to get some video footage of a Brewer’s blackbird taking a bath in our birdbath – splashing around crazily. It was so much fun.

And today…more bird fun.

There were three American goldfinches (or wild canaries), 2 male and one female, flitting about, chasing each other all around. I watched them a bit, then took some video footage with my digital camera as they flitted about a tree.  Not my tree.  We are tree-less.  There was a tree way back behind our yard, by the nursing home behind us.

Then there were 3 red-winged blackbirds flying about, chasing each other. It was grand.

By the way, our yard needs some serious landscaping.

Photobucket

Some bushes, a tree perhaps…a pond (and I don’t mean the standing water that accumulates by the back fence after a rainfall).

It’s great for the dog and the kids to run around in, but goodness, it’s in serious need of some plant life other than grass and clover and dandelions.

This entry was posted in My photography, my stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

