Little E

My littlest one, E, who is 5, is READING!

She read to me 4 Clifford phonics readers to me and Dr. Suess’ Hop on Pop with very little help. That’s the first time ever she was able to read books she had not memorized (like her favorites No, David or parts of The Big Wide Mouthed Frog). She is so excited about being able to recognize and read the words.

I am tickled because just a year and a half ago, she could care less about letters. But I know she really got into them when preschool started, and they are learning sight words. I think that’s something new, because I don’t remember my other two daughters learning any sight words when they went to that preschool before.

On other news…we find out tonight if she ‘wins’ the all-day kindergarten lottery.

I have some mixed feelings if she’ll get it.

  • She’ll love being in all day K – being able to be like a ‘big kid’ like her sisters and the social interaction.
  • It will be easier to drop all three off and pick them up at the same time (first time in 3 years).
  • It will cost $1800 because it’s not mandated so we have to pick up the tab for the afternoon extras.
  • I’ll get 6.5 hours to myself to do something – take a class or two, volunteer, substitute teach.
  • It will be weird not having a child with me for a significant amount of time.
  • 6. But I’m excited of the prospect of seriously pursuing some of my own goals.

In the end, I know what will be will be. Either the fall will be very different, or just a little different. Either way, it will be all right. 2.5 hours 5 days a week is still an improvement over 1.5 hours 3 days a week.

This entry was posted in education, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Little E

  1. Mom Gail says:

    I am so proud of her. It’s always so exciting when you see a child grow and learn new things. I’m also excited for you. Just think, you’ll be able to do anything that you want. Like take some classes, go to work if you like, something that will excite you. I love you

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    We are so excited for her about the reading.

    So many new developments in the last few weeks – turning five, learning to ride a bicycle without training wheels, reading.

    I’m going to post about the lotto results in a few minutes…

    Love you too very much.

Leave a Reply

