On the health concerns

I did go to my doctor yesterday to talk about my thyroid ultrasound results in person.

I found out that:

1) the endocrinologist said the nodule appeared like the “good” kind not the “bad” kind.

Um…okay…I’m still not waiting 3 months to see if it grows.  The doctor does understand that this is something that is making me scared and I can’t wait.

2) there is a nuclear med test that can be done to further screen the nodule, but the doctor said the endocrinologist thinks it’s a “worthless” test.

Um…okay…my friend who DID have thyroid cancer and surgery and radioactive iodine DID have that test done.  I wonder what scientific evidence they have to make that claim that it’s not worthwhile doing.

Needless to say, I’m getting a second opinion.  I found an endocrinologist who specializes in thyroid nodules at my old university hospital, so I made an appointment.  The fortunate part about it is that while he only sees patients on Mondays (and it would have been highly unlikely I would see him anytime soon), when I called yesterday, I was told someone canceled an appointment for THIS coming Monday.  So I don’t have to wait.   How amazing is that?

3) it appears I have increased vascular activity which is indicative of  (drum roll please)  Hashimoto’s thyroidits – the leading cause of hypothyroidism.

So, I was right.  Man, I am great at diagnosing things.  I should have become a doctor.

I’ll end up being at the university hospital where my mother and 2 sisters already go for their thyroid problems and seem very happy with.  My sister who had her thyroid surgically removed barely has any scar, so if ever I needed surgery, I’d be in good hands there.

Oh, and at the end of the visit, I asked my doctor if I could have some sort of take as you need anti-anxiety med for the death anxiety I have.  She told me that while she could prescribe something, antidepressants would work better, but more importantly, I really would do better to go for behavioral therapy to get to the underlying issues that trigger my anxiety.  If at that point, it was determined I really needed them, I could still get them.  But she really wanted the thought processes behind them treated, not just the symptoms.

So, yeah…I’m thinking the scare I had may be all right, but even if it’s not, I’ll be finding out sooner than later.

Seems like someone is looking out for me (thanks God!).

This entry was posted in faith, health. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

