Well, I’ve got my answer

I had concerns that I have thryoid disease. My mother has it, one of my older sister has it, my youngest sister has it. I’ve been so worried that the swelling in my neck was due to thyroid disease too. I’ve noticed the swelling for about 6 months now or so. I finally got it checked out by ultrasound last Friday and I got a call today.

It’s a thyroid nodule. From what I have read, over 90% of thyroid nodules are benign which means less than 10 % are not. I know it’s a paranoid thing to think, but I’m thinking that I GOT this nodule from being exposed to the smoke of my neighbor’s minor house fire last year. I didn’t post about it at the time, but as I was having the conversation with my neighbor, I didn’t really pay attention right away to the fact that I was right in the path of some of the smoke while I was asking him if he needed a hand. When I left, I thought it was a stupid thing to NOT have paid attention to. I know better, but I often don’t think of the risks to myself when I try to help others. That’s a bad habit to get into.

I wonder if I had not gotten this nodule had I not been so oblivious to my own safety. I know vinyl siding fumes are highly toxic/carcinogenic.

My doctor wants to take a “wait and see” approach and re-check in three months. Yeah, no, I don’t think so. I’m going elsewhere to see if I can’t get it biopsied.

This entry was posted in health. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Well, I’ve got my answer

  1. Papa T says:

    Keep getting your answers! I’m sending warm, caring energy into the ether for you.

    Blessings!

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thanks Papa T

    I appreciate the warm, caring energy and the blessings.

    I’ll see my sister tonight who had a really good endocrinologist. He removed her thyroid when she needed it done. You could barely see any scar on her neck – not like any others I’ve seen done.

    I will find out his name and line up an appointment with him for a second opinion/biopsy.

Leave a Reply

