Therapist for the gifted interview

One of my most recent commenters is Gifted Children Examiner of Examiner.com, Suki Wessling, who wrote a very informative article called An interview with therapist for the gifted: Mika Gustavson.

I appreciate Ms Wessling posting the interview and I REALLY appreciate Ms. Gustavson’s acknowledgment of the challenges encountered by parents with gifted children. I can readily attest to the validity of this statement:

…since many traits of giftedness are inherited, gifted parents are contending with some of the same challenges their children are — sensory issues, feeling different from their peers, high degrees of emotional sensitivity to name a few common ones — and therefore are going to have an additional layer of work in order to reach their kids.

Ain’t THAT the truth!

My sensory sensitivity is noise. My highly emotional, gifted middle daughter’s unique cries/wails were at the same pitch and decibel level that I found intolerable.

And her confirmation of something I’ve already discovered is very reassuring:

Giftedness is a total neurological package — it impacts much, much more than just academic functioning or special abilities. The brain that produces those special aptitudes often comes with high-intensity emotions, sensory sensitivity, language or communication challenges or significant learning differences.

I have long since suspected I would do well finding a therapist specializing in gifted issues, but, well, as life would have it (or rather as my “I can do it better myself” attitude, or my penchant for procrastination, or my skepticism that I’d find the appropriate therapist in this area would have it), I never found one. It was on my to-do list if things didn’t improve with middle daughter. Still, it makes me very pleased to know that we’ve been on the right track and it really makes me feel good about how far middle daughter and I have come.

This entry was posted in gifted adults, gifted children, gifted support, highly sensitive child, highly sensitive mom, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Therapist for the gifted interview

  1. Rick says:

    I can appreciate where you’re coming from. And I have more sympathy for my own parents, now, of course. 🙂

    In my case (and my kids), what I try to focus on is this philosophy: “You are going to get distracted. You will be bored. You will not feel that you fit in as well as others. That’s OK. In fact, it’s cool. But you still have to act normal. You still have to brush your teeth and get dressed and be on time and listen politely and all the normal stuff most people expect. It’s just part of the deal.”

    I consider my rather normal looks/dress style to be a kind of urban camoflague. Yes, I look just like the other guy next door, but I guarantee you, we are not thinking the same things right now. 😀

    • raisingsmartgirls says:

      Rick –

      I had to smile at your “urban camouflage”. That just tickles me for some reason. I know exactly what you mean. I know I think nothing like my neighbors.

      Unfortunately, I don’t have more sympathy for my parents now that I’m a mother. I UNDERSTAND their limitations better, but…I know my parents were abusive. My mother got my grandparents against me. My oldest sister abused me too. Eventually, my youngest sister was equally vitriolic with her email attacks on me.

      Sadly, I am not the person I could have been because of how they treated me with indifference when they were kind and with scorn, abuse and ridicule when they were not.

      The hardest part is that I came to their rescue when THEY were down/abused. I spent a great deal of time understanding the family dynamic and counseling all of them at one point or another.

      At any rate…things are different now. The abuses are all but disappeared. I “forgive” them, but I don’t forget.

      I know that as recently as last year, certain members of my family would not hesitate to “throw me under the bus” if it served their needs.

      Sad, but true.

  2. Thuan says:

    Casey, you are wonderful! Thank you, thank you, thank you for all the wonderful resources. You also have perfect timing with everything. Mika Gustavson’s group meeting is in my area and I’m going to look into joining the discussion group.

    • raisingsmartgirls says:

      Thuan –

      What a wonderful coincidence! That’s awesome…if you go, please take some notes and blog about it!!!!

Leave a Reply

