Song to the Moon

I thought it would be appropriate to share this full moon photo I took a few months ago and Dvorak’s Rusalka (opera) Song to the Moon in honor of tonight’s blue moon.

Photobucket

English Translation:

O moon high up in the deep, deep sky,
Your light sees far away regions,
You travel round the wide,
Wide world peering into human dwellings.

O, moon, stand still for a moment,
Tell me, ah, tell me where is my lover!
Tell him please, silvery moon in the sky,
That I am hugging him firmly,
That he should for at least a while
Remember his dreams!

Light up his far away place,
Tell him, ah, tell him who is here waiting!
If he is dreaming about me,
May this remembrance waken him!

O moon, don’t disappear, don’t disappear!

Happy New Year!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Song to the Moon

  1. Rosalba says:

    honestly I cannot stop listening to this song. It’s words are so heartwarming and my mind is becoming addicted. It is truly a wonderful song. The blue moon looks beautiful. It does remind me of the song.

    great choice (:

    -salba

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Salba –

    Thank you for your comment. I agree, I love listening to the song over and over again. I came across this song on another blog a while back, and have loved it ever since.

    The meaning of the words are incredibly romantic, and I love how it crescendos to a very powerful end.

    I think the photo is pretty fitting too. Even though technically, a “blue moon” really isn’t blue. It just is a moon that happens 2x in a month. However, I loved how the colors in the clouds looked the night I took that picture.

Leave a Reply

