If you are the praying type

Early this morning, my nephew’s father D was feeding him his bottle on the couch, when he fell asleep holding his son. At some point, the baby fell off his father’s lap and hit his head on the coffee table.

My sister G (yeah, the same one who screamed at me a few days ago), woke up upon hearing the noise and her husband tried to cover it up as the sound of the noise she heard as a bottle falling. She didn’t think anything of it until he put the baby to bed and she checked the video monitor from her room, looking at her husband touching the baby’s head to check if he was okay. She got up, scared and livid, saw the bumps/scrape on the baby’s head and face, and called 911.

Baby C (about 7 months) got a concussion. After a cat scan and some amount of time, they determined he was okay enough to go home.

What’s worse, is that her husband had gone out drinking earlier that night. He was trying to be a good husband by feeding the baby, and made a grave mistake. He’d been crying ever since my sister called the paramedics.

Child protective services will probably (and rightfully) will be called to investigate.

I think (and hope and pray) the baby will be fine.

I am not so sure about the relationship between my sister and her husband.

Just please say a prayer for them. No matter how badly my family mistreats me, I don’t wish harm to come to them. I don’t want their family to be torn apart by a mistake like this.

Thanks.

This entry was posted in my stories, when bad stuff happens. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to If you are the praying type

  1. Heather says:

    So sorry to hear about your nephew. I can’t imagine how his father must feel. I am so happy to hear that he is feeling remorseful and not making excuses (even though he initially tried to cover it up.) I’m hope that his emotions about it will go along way with your sister as far as their relationship is concerned. Saying a prayer for baby and family.

    • raisingsmartgirls says:

      Heather, I do understand the fear and panic of doing something so terrible the first thing you want to do is cover it up (as in make it never happen).

      I’ve done some really, really dumb things in my life. Even “I” had made a mistake where one of my babies fell off the bed after a nighttime nursing session. I was so tired (not drinking though) and she fell. My husband was at work (midnight shift) and even though she just fell on carpeting, I felt awful and didn’t want to tell my husband what happened (but I did).

  2. Mary says:

    I am sorry to hear about your nephew. Why would she let him take care of the baby if he was intoxicated? I hope all turns out well for your family.

    • raisingsmartgirls says:

      Mary, she didn’t let him take care of the baby. The baby was asleep before she went to bed and she told him before she went to bed, to wake her up when he woke up for the middle of the night feeding. He thought he would be nice to her by taking care of the nighttime feeding for her, since he was already up.

      From what I understand, he had been drinking, yes, but not so badly he thought he couldn’t handle it.

      I guess he just fell asleep while he was waiting for the baby to finish the bottle.

      He feels so remorseful and guilty and awful, I know he wouldn’t ever wanted to do something so careless.

      He really is otherwise a wonderful husband and father. He just made a really poor judgment call.

  3. Mom Gail says:

    I am definitly the praying type. I will send up some prayers for G and her family.
    Now for some good news! Your dads blood work came back great. His platelet count is the same as it was 6 months ago, his red blood count is good, white count up a little, but they aren’t real concerned because everything else is as it should be. How is your grandmother? Honey, my prayers are always with you & your family, that includes mom, stepdad, & siblings. I met your grandmother a few times, she was alright. I hope things work out well for her, and all of you

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Mom Gail –

    Thanks SO MUCH for calling the other day and for letting me know about dad.

    I am so, so happy about the good news about dad!

    I am going to call sometime today (Sunday).

    Thanks for all the prayers.

    Love you very much.

  5. J-viere says:

    Yeah, you know the drinking is incidental. This could happen to anyone. In fact, new mothers in their terribly sleep-deprived state can be worse than a full blown drunk! There were times during the newborn phase that I couldn’t even drive because I was too loopy. And I can’t even begin to count all the missed appointments, etc., because I was too tired to remember.

    Anyway, I have taken care of my kids plenty of times after having some wine and nothing bad came of it. Life is unpredictable. I hope the baby mends up well. Dad too.

Leave a Reply

