And the screaming begins.

Grandma’s in the hospital due to stroke.

Mother knows very well if she needs me, to call me, but didn’t.

I called Mother, Youngest Sister and Oldest Sister today at 1 pm to ask how Grandma is doing and to ask if they needed anything.

But no one answered. All cell phones went to voice mail. I left three messages.

Youngest sister finally called me tonight at 5. I asked her if she got my message, she said, “no” and “I don’t keep my cell phone on me all day”. Which is a lie, because she’s glued to it, especially when someone’s in the hospital.

After she sort of asked if I was going to the hospital, I told Youngest sister I wouldn’t be available to sit with Grandma tonight because I have to get some things done I promised for the kid’s school.  This is the first time in 6 months I didn’t change my plans for Grandma.   I told her I’d be available after husband gets home Wednesday and Thursday.  I have no one to call on as a babysitter on short notice.  Part of the reason is because I have no friends to count on.

Youngest sister screamed at me for not coming tonight to hospital to sit with grandma.   Grandma is 45 minutes away.  Not terrible, but I can’t be there for long before visiting hours are over anyway.

Literally, top of her lungs screaming at me.

I held the phone away, and looked at the phone vacantly.

I could hear sister shrieking at me on the other side.

I hung up.

And for once, I am calm after one of these abusive phone calls.

I am calm.

This entry was posted in abuse. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And the screaming begins.

  1. el burro says:

    It’s so not about you, which you know. Good for you for being able to let it bounce off. Stay behind your plexiglass shield!

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    El burro. You are right about that.

    I have been working on the ability to let go of guilt, and let go of getting angry/upset about things.

    I have an internet friend who’s been helping me to stop falling into some of the same patterns I’ve been so used to.

  3. Krissy says:

    Man that sounds like my family. Good for you for hanging up.

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Krissy the most insane thing about it is that the next time I see her, she will not even say she is sorry or even think it bothers me.

  5. Krissy says:

    Well, you know, duh. Cause like she was only treating you how you *should* be treated. What does she have to apologize for? (I hope that sarcasm was ladled on heavily enough.)

    I’ve been hating my family a lot lately and working towards breaking ties again. I’m so flippin tired of being treated like shit.

  6. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Big hugs friend. I hope you find a little calm in the middle of being treated like shit.

    Take care.

Leave a Reply

