Microbiology refresher

This post is predominantly for me to remember where I find some good resources for microbiology information.

Who knows if I’ll get that job. I may or may not find out this week. But in the meantime, I’m thinking I ought to start reviewing microbiological concepts

Brock Biology of Microorganisms – Study Guide

Figures from Evolution Textbook

Miscellaneous Techniques

Streak Plate Technique (great little animation)

Youtube of a gram stain

And while this isn’t microbiology, this is still nice to have a refresher about:
A genetics and molecular biology primer

Going to be busy with some studying for a while. So I may or may not be posting much for a while.

This entry was posted in career, combining science and motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Microbiology refresher

  1. J-viere says:

    Oh now you’re talking fun stuff! Woo hoo! I didn’t click on the one above but I watched a few gram staining videos before walking into the lab and doing it for the very first time like a pro! I LOVE micro and would you believe I have never even taken the class? I sat in on summer classes and a few this term before things got crazy. Can’t wait to take one for credit.

    I’m so excited about your future possibilities!

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    J-viere –

    Even if I don’t get this job, I do appreciate that it’s making me refresh some of my knowledge. I can’t live without being challenged, and I realize that this is an important factor why being a stay at home mom has been so difficult.

    And, yes, I do recall you saying you’ve sat in on classes before, I didn’t realize micro was one you audited. I thought you actually had taken it for a grade.

    I’ll be sharing more as I find things.

Leave a Reply

