And this is when science gets fun

I swear, I think the most fun I could ever have is being a educational docent at a children’s museum. But, since I can’t, the next best thing is going to be giving a lecture for my friend R.’s fourth grade class about forensic DNA analysis from my days at the crime lab. Yes, even though I had worked there 9 years ago, the principles are the same and end result is the same, though some of the technical details have changed. I keep in contact with my dear friend/mentor/father figure Dan at the crime lab and he’s kept me abreast of some of the changes, though he’s going send me a dvd of what he provides for lectures that he gives to schools so I can get some ideas from.

Of all the things I had to put together over the last week (revamp my resume, dig up old tax records and provide a salary history, make phone calls inquiries for day-care, even get ready for Christmas parties all next week), getting this lecture ready is proving to be fun. I already have a basic outline, now I just need a few pictures and some details to make it fun.

It’s been my dream to inspire kids (and girls especially) to go into science. Yeah, teaching kids is one of those big MAYBEs, but not exactly enough to really make me inspired. I’ll let you know how things go in two weeks. Who knows, this might be a life-changing event for me.

This entry was posted in combining science and motherhood, education, my secret dream, serendipity. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And this is when science gets fun

  1. Krissy says:

    That sounds really cool. I love love loved being a teacher. If I were willing to put my kids in school I would go back to teaching in a heart beat. Given that your kids are in school you might think about it a bit more. It’s an awesome career.

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    See, I need to hear more passionate responses about teaching than I have been. I have a few teacher friends who don’t always speak so fondly about teaching.

  3. Jen says:

    Oh please do let us know how it goes. This post is full of radiating happiness from you. And I like that!

    And, on a different note, I am homeschooling my 11 year old daughter, and while she likes science, I am having trouble keeping her interest in the topics she wants to study. I find that I am having trouble determining good curriculum, and more importantly, good BOOKS on basic science topics. If you have any suggestions, I would love to hear them!

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Oh, Jen, I definitely will.

    Did you see my science blog? The Exploration Station?

    http://theexplorationstation.wordpress.com/

    Take a look at the interactive science links in the tabs at the top. She might actually like some of those things. Show her some of the experiments we’ve done and see if anything strikes her fancy. I think she’s old enough to help decide what might interest her and you can build from that. I don’t necessarily think you have to go sequentially in science, but interdisciplinary approach is an idea (there’s a lot of physics in chemistry for instance). Th.ere is one free general science curriculum, and one place to go for energy that could be used as a curriculum (I think anyway)

    Are you looking for textbook books, or science experiment type books?

Leave a Reply

