What a week this is turning out to be

We will be attending the wake for Mrs. P at the end of the week. She was M’s teacher for first grade.

M took the news of Mrs. P’s passing pretty well, though she did say that she would have been more upset if she and I hadn’t been talking about it all along. I started talking with her a few months ago about how serious she was, when the school decided to let the kids know she was very ill.

I talked with her about it, and we watched the episode of Arthur not too long ago called The Great McGrady, who was the lunch lady at Arthur’s school who got cancer too (and survived). We used that to talk with more as well.

When M found out yesterday, she didn’t cry about it at school. But when she came home, she cried, but not about it either. She cried about something she forgot to school and she got really upset by that and cried a lot.

She also asked me about what kind of cancer she had, so I told her it was ovarian cancer, and then showed her a picture of what it was, then she asked some questions and somehow we ended up talking a little bit about what the ovaries do and ended up talking a little bit about reproduction. Not exactly what I planned to do, but I’m not one to avoid answering questions.

Wish me luck that I won’t break down when we go to the wake this week.

*******
On other news fronts:

Later last night, I called back the person from three jobs ago to find out what kind of job she had in mind. She was a woman who was my supervisor in the microbiology department of a food testing company I worked for while in my junior and senior year of college. She’d moved on to a few other jobs and now was at a small private microbiological testing company who was looking to expand it’s services. They were looking for someone to work on a part-time basis for some project work.

They do a few things, including environmental sampling and bacteriological identification. They also work on projects that pharmaceutical companies might want to contract out. My first impression of the companies website wasn’t quite as “professional” as I was hoping it would be, and environmental sampling wasn’t all that exciting to me, but what caught my eye was some of the testing they did and what instrumentation they used for their work.

I’m no stranger to molecular DNA techniques like microsatellite analysis or gene sequencing. But instead of huge pieces of instrumentation and labor intensive set up, everything gets done on a teeny-tiny little 2 inch (if that) square chip. I would love to get the chance to learn that technology.

But, as interesting as that sounds, there’s this minor little problem of what to do with my kids. Only one of them is in school full time. The other two aren’t. I’d have to scramble to figure out what to do with them when they aren’t in school. And while I swore up and down I’d never put them in day-care, this is an opportunity that would be hard to come by again.

One of the particularly attractive parts to it is that I wouldn’t have to go back to the city, but instead, a quaint little suburban town about a half hour from where I live…a place we’ve been thinking about moving to anyway, eventually. If we were to move there, it would be literally minutes away from home. And…the same town is where my MIL and Aunt in law live…so we could potentially have them watch the girls for us at least until they are all in school full time next year.

I’m excited but I don’t want to get my hopes up…but I don’t want to lose out on this unique opportunity.

Wish me luck, I hope something good can come of this.

This entry was posted in combining science and motherhood, highly sensitive mom, personal issues. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What a week this is turning out to be

  1. Leah says:

    Good luck! 🙂

    “My first impression of the companies website wasn’t quite as “professional” as I was hoping it would be”

    Unfortunately for IT people’s employment levels, this is hardly the only company to neglect such things, particularly among small companies. Heck, even among small companies that provide IT services (for small companies that don’t want to hire their own IT people), many of them have ‘not so professional’ websites. Point being, since so many small companies don’t seem to care much about having a nice website (and many have no website at all), you can’t really pay much attention to that factor unless you want to rule out working for the vast majority of small companies.

    PS: I have to tear my attention away to try to focus on other stuff this week, but will return to emails this weekend.

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Actually, the graphics themselves were pretty sharp and impressive. Their designer of the website made it look very nice. The content however was strange. Some of the way they were describing their services were kind of like begging people to use them because they are nice, not necessarily because they had a great service. It was just strange.

    Don’t worry about the emails. I’m grieving this week and I won’t be much use to anyone anyway. Thanks for letting me know.

    Take care.

    Casey

    • Leah says:

      Oh, ha, I’ve seen so many that fit what I described, I hadn’t expected this particular combination. In that case, it sounds like they had someone write the copy for it who didn’t understand good marketing approaches. Begging does tend to be a turn-off. 😉 If you think you could do better, perhaps you could offer a rewrite to add to your projects with them!

  3. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Funny, I was just thinking about how I could re-write some of their stuff to make it better. 😉

Leave a Reply

