Oh, man I’m giddy.

I should have done this a long time ago.  I mean I know I liked to write, but I never thought I could have spun a tale into an actual fictional story, even one I know fairly intimately.

My word count is 3766 and by and large, it doesn’t suck as bad as I thought it would.  What’s more, I’m not neglecting the house or the kids.  I write for about an hour, then I do a chore and take care of the kids for a bit, then go back to write.

So…right now, Maggie Frances has gotten through the application and interview process, but has to take a polygraph test.  She is very nervous about it, so she decides to ask George to go out for a drink with her to talk about what it will be like and in doing so, she  gets a little flak from her mom about going out on a weeknight, yes, even though she’s 24 years old and should be able to make some of her own decisions, she’s treated like a child, and in there is something in her subconscious that is drawing her into thinking of George as more than just a friend.

It’s very very cool.

Okay, I’m hopefully not going to bore my readers to tears about the play by play of the novel that seems to be writing itself…but I’ve never tackled anything so ambitious and I am just beginning to think that it can be done.  Even if it turns out unpublishable, it’s going to be semi-autbiographical so the girls will get to know what life was like in a crime lab for their mom.  Cool, huh?

This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh, man I’m giddy.

  1. graceandgranola says:

    Hi Casey!
    So happy to hear that the writing is going well and that you are feeling satisfied by it! I am amazed that it doesn’t take away from your home-life–wonderful! I guess that what happens with focused action.

    Thanks for your reply on the Explosive Child. I read your thoughts on it, and I also checked out your Binder. It is really fantastic! I hope I can get something together like that for my son.

    Blessings!

    Heather

  2. Thanks Heather. I find it to be focused on something for a specific purpose, that I can put down and pick up again in between chores (instead of just surfing MDC all the time). I actually was able to exceed my goal for today and it’s only 7 pm. I even made homemade meatballs today with dinner. It’s kind of amazing how it’s working out. At any rate, I thought I’d reply before I got back to it. The next part I have to describe how a polygraph test was done. I hope I remember enough of it (I’ll verify either on google or if I get a hold of one of my friends who was a police officer once upon a time).

    Talk to you later, and I’m going to add your blog to my blogroll.

    Take care,

    Casey

  3. Mom Gail says:

    There is such a sense of ease in your writing now, not sounding so depressed and unhappy. I’m so happy that you are actually doing something that you have always enjoyed doing. My darling daughter I am SO proud of you.

    YOU GO GIRL!!!

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Mom Gail – I think you are right about that. I am feeling a whole lot better right now. I feel like I have a purpose, and not just aimlessly going through the days. I have a lot more energy than I did before, and I really like spending time on the story.

    I have always thought of myself as a writer, but just lacked the confidence to really commit to it.

    I have a bit more faith in myself, plus, once this is done, I think I will feel more confident to write the story of K’s selective mutism. That’s something I wanted to write about as well…and really get published.

    Thanks for the support Mom Gail!

    I love you!

Leave a Reply

