I’m going to write that novel.

After about 24 hours of deliberation I’ve got my mind made up that I’m going for broke. I’m going to try the NaNoWriMo and belt out a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. Can I do it? Maybe. I’m sure as hell going to try.

The major problem I have right now is deciding on what to write about. I have a lot of stories in mind from the typical to the not so typical, most of them will be reflected from different experiences of my life, perhaps

  1. fictionalizing my account about raising a child with selective mutism
  2. fictionalizing life in a crime lab (I spent 5 years in a forensic lab) with the major focus not on the crimes themselves, but on the relationships and the stories of pride and a fallout of favor for a major player and the stresses of working in a crime lab in a major metropolitan area.
  3. fictionalized tell-all of my life (I’ve always wanted to tell my life story in one place – and since the purpose of this isn’t necessarily to get published, I could probably do just that just as my own little narrative piece for my girls).  Two stories that very much echo my life are Flowers in the Attic and Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood.
  4. I know there are other ideas, I just forgot them now.

I don’t know.  Maybe I should throw a dart.

Actually…now that I’ve thought about it some…and asked dh, he likes the idea of #2 almost as much as I do.

This entry was posted in NaNoWriMo, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m going to write that novel.

  1. You can definitely do it! Go, go, go! 🙂

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Heh- off to a slow start today. I have 3 sentences written. I just got back from a Halloween party from a friend I worked with at the crime lab. I talked with a few of my old colleagues there (researching, right?). I’m so exhausted now! Dh and I got in at 3:30 am and had to get up at 8 to get the kids. I’m so sleepy!

    It’s all good. Procrastination is part of the FUN!

    At any rate…I will be posting updates and I will be limiting what I blog about, but it should be interesting…

    I have to respond to another post comment, then start in earnest with the story. I’m just using the commenting to warm up my typing hands. 🙂

  3. doctorjohnsmith says:

    “I’m going to try the NaNoWriMo and belt out a 50,000 page novel in 30 days. Can I do it?”

    Casey, I don’t think Anthony Trollope could do it, and the guy was a machine.

    50,000 pages?? We’ll need to harvest the entire Amazon to publish this!

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Uh…I think I need to fire my editor!!!!!

    I’m sure this blog is full of typos.

Leave a Reply

