I will never leave the house again without my camera

I’ve been saying to myself in the past few weeks that I should always take my camera with me when I leave the house.

I missed a beautiful red cardinal once.

I missed 3, count ’em 3, American goldfinches another time, playing tag with each other as I waited to pick up my oldest daughter from her summer science camp.

And, today, in my own yard, not 10 feet away from me, when I was pulling into my driveway, I saw a rather large bird, most unlike I’ve seen close-up. I stop the car, and watch it. As I’m looking at it’s regal appearance, I realize it’s a hawk.

I’m stunned, I’m kicking myself because I know not 30 feet away, in the house, is my 10 megapixel digital camera with the 18x zoom lens, sitting on my dining room table.

I want to cry, because I’ve been trying for weeks to get a good shot of them in the air, like this (although, these actually might be tawny eagles, because we were at Timbivati Park in Wisonsin Dells and they supposedly had some of those)

Photobucket
never thinking I’d find one on the ground.

I look at this bird, and I notice some snowy fluff around him. He’s looking around, but otherwise still. I realize he must have a catch in his talons.

So, I thought, well, I could sit here and watch him do nothing, or I could try backing the car up, parking away from the house and slipping inside for my camera. And I did attempt it, all the while, my eyes were on him (or her) and got as far as my front porch before he took off with a small bird in his talons.

All that’s left is fluffy down and feathers from the bird he was trying to shred:

Photobucket

OH…MY…GOODNESS. I could just cry. I’m so mad at myself. Right in my lap and I couldn’t capture it.

DAMN IT.

Okay, I just had to get that out.

Carry on.

This entry was posted in Missed opportunities, My photography. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

