Healing that inner child

I’ve had a lot to ponder from a commenter who kindly has been encouraging me to continue working through some of my anger issues that stem from my own family history so that I don’t repeat the patterns of behavior I grew up in. I have been discussing some things with a dear friend (you know who you are) via email about some of the things I uncover.

The wonderful comments from Yvonne cut and pasted an excerpt for me to read, and when I googled it, I found this link to it.

I AM – Your Inner Self.

From there I found this wonderful page about “Healing the Inner Child”
with this quote:

Each of us once, was an innocent child

For each of us, deep inside, there is an inner child – – an innocent who has not been heard,

a child who has been made wrong,
a child who has had to go it alone,
a child who has been denied,
a child who has been brought up by “The Book”,
a child who has not had the opportunity to share
with the elders of the tribe .

~ copyright Christopher Wynter and Fiona Tulk of Transpersonal LifeStreams

And this one that follows it:

How many unique experiences do you have in a life time?

How much of your life is, in fact, a series of ‘re-actions’ based on the inherited patterns, hopes, fears, thoughts, dreams and nightmares of people who have been dead a very long time?

When you were young, how many would listen to your ‘remembering’, the wisdom of your own inner child, those things that came to you from sources no one could explain .. or made wrong?

Are you really the expression of your inner child, or are you some mass of disjointed personalities – the result of the projections of mother, father, society, culture and religion?

Do you remember your childhood nightmares and your parents’ reactions to them? .. OR do you actively not want to remember them!

~ copyright Christopher Wynter and Fiona Tulk of Transpersonal LifeStreams.

I am amazed at the serendipitous road I’ve been traveling…something bigger than myself has been putting people and ideas and comforting words and a hand up when I need it squarely in my path.

My blog started out simply as just a vent of my frustrations and trying to sort things out on my own, while I recorded some difficulties of raising a child with selective mutism. I realized that in doing so, it had the potential to open up myself to criticism, but it was a risk I had to take. I needed to journal my thoughts and pour out my struggles and hope that someone cared to read them.

I never really thought that I would meet others who might directly influence the journey I am on in such a positive way. I knew there were good people in the world, I just didn’t know when I started this blog I’d find them here, through interacting with the people who read my blog.

Today, there are exactly 600 comments on this blog. Thank you for having the conversations with me and sharing your stories, your wisdom, your appreciation for what I have to say about selective mutism, and for just hanging out with me for a while. I so appreciate each and every one of you who’ve come forward to share (and, yes, even if you don’t agree with me 🙂 ).

I am humbled by you who have reached out to me and given me your wisdom and your kind support.

I want to publicly thank these in particular for their kindesses over these past few weeks:

Joanna
Jennaviere
Laurie Kendrick
Laveda
Mouse
Mom Gail (my wonderfully supportive stepmom)
PapaT
Yvonne

(if I’ve forgotten someone I’ll come back to add it to the list).

I want to thank all of you who read my blog. If ever I felt lonely when I started this blog, I sure can’t say that now.

I wish that I could thank all of you in person. Over the internet is so darn limiting. But I am so thankful to all of you for being in my life even in this very limited way. I appreciate you and the time you’ve taken to express your warm thoughts and your wisdom, and for reading.

I hope you have come away from this place with something useful or inspiring, or just feel a little less alone.

I have much to reflect upon. My head has been a swirling torrent of thoughts I can’t seem to pin them down. I’m hoping to and real soon. I have been trying to find the time to write about what I discover, but it’s been difficult, mostly because I’m also trying to focus on doing more nature projects and taking photographs of autumn around here with the smart girls.

If you’d like to see what we’ve been up to, you can follow the links below to see what we’ve been doing.

Fall Nature Table

Here’s a peek:
Photobucket

Fall Nature Walk

Photobucket

As much as I want to, I can’t do everything I want to do. There’s not enough time in the day, particularly when you are sick. I just started getting better, but then I got sick again. I woke up this morning with a sore throat.

I’m so not looking forward to winter…the cold days ahead of us are long and dreary. That bright sunny day didn’t last long, just one day in the midst of cold and wet weather.

This entry was posted in creating harmony, highly sensitive mom, introspection, On friendship, personal growth, personal issues, perspective, Pretty places, serendipity. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

