First day of preschool for E – it could have been better

(though I know it could have been much worse).

Finally, the long awaited day has come. Little E, my “baby” had her first day of preschool. Since she is 4, she is in the kindergarten readiness class.

Knowing that little is my very outgoing child, I figured she’d have a blast her first day of preschool. Especially since she knows the preschool teacher. It was her big sister K’s teacher from last year. I often volunteered at the school, bringing E with me on computer days. And she’s gone on a few of the field trips with the school, as they allowed younger siblings to come with on field trips.

So you’d think things would be a cakewalk for little E. I did. I finally thought I’d be able to stop worrying about my shy kids and how they got along in school.

But today the parents stayed for the first day to help the kids adjust. I assumed things would go well for E, because she can make friends with almost anyone in the park or walking along the neighborhood. Only today, she held back, and stayed by my side when it was time to play with her friends. Even when I got down there to play with her, she wouldn’t. When the teacher addressed her, she barely spoke. My heart sank. Having 2 very shy kids, one of whom was so shy she was selectively mute for her first year of preschool, I know shyness can be debilitating.

I wasn’t expecting to see this happening again. I’m hoping it was a fluke. After all, this is her first day at preschool. Most of these kids had a year of preschool under their belts (I always sent my kids when they were four, not three). Maybe it was just first day jitters. Maybe it was because I was there. I almost wanted to cry when I looked at her face and she looked…well…blankly around at the kids – not smiling, but not frowning either. Not scared, but not happy either.

There were promising moments though. She did call out some answers when the teacher asked about the book she was reading, and she did the hand motions and sang along at music time – something her selectively mute sister could not do her first year and a half at preschool.

I know, she’s going to do fine…eventually. This is a totally new situation. As excited as she’s been for the last year to go, she will probably be just fine…maybe even as soon as tomorrow, when I’m not there.

I hope.

This entry was posted in highly sensitive child, highly sensitive mom, school issues, selective mutism. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to First day of preschool for E – it could have been better

  1. Natalie says:

    I hope it’s just a fluke. My daughter is not shy – she is simply not social. She is an observer who likes to be left alone by peers. Our main goal for preschool is to help her get out of her shell a little bit, and so far the first two weeks in a new school went fairly well – that means she didn’t cry and didn’t complain much about going. Hopefully, E will regain her social butterfly wheels soon.

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Natalie – I hope so too. E’s always been the social one of the three, and that’s why it struck me as strange. I asked her about it later, and she said she didn’t want to talk about it because she didn’t know why she couldn’t play with the toys. She did put the toys away even though she didn’t play with them. So she wasn’t immobile. K was mostly immobile in class as well as mute, and K never sang or did the hand motions, which E was able to.

    Today is her first 2 hour day and she’ll be on her own. I think it will be better for me not to be there so I don’t see first hand (and worry) how she does. Since the teacher is the same as K’s last year, she’ll know what to look for at least.

  3. I am the author of “Why Dylan Doesn’t Talk” a new children’s book about Selective Mutism. I would love if you could share this book with others who may find it helpful for their child. Thank you!

    http://www.selectivemutismbook.com

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thanks Carrie – I should probably start a booklist for selective mutism. If/when I do, I’ll add your book to it.

Leave a Reply

