The best Renaissance Fair ever!

I have always loved going to the Bristol Renaissance Fair, but I think this was the absolute best time I’ve had there.

As a last minute decision, we decided to go although J wasn’t sure the girls would be up for all the walking. But I had faith that they’d find something to like about it. After all the sadness of the week (with Ms. P being very ill, and after M’s pet toad that died and my sister’s house fire), this was probably the best move to make. It was a cool, overcast day (almost too chilly), but it made for the best pictures and for all the walking we had to do.

It seemed like everything could not have been planned better (and it was all by accident).

1. We got very close parking even though we arrived an hour after it opened.

2. We avoided the long lines because J printed out tickets from home.

Photobucket

Photobucket

3. We saw a pirate ship

Photobucket

4. We saw the Royal Joust and afterward the Queen let us take pictures with the girls (not shown here, though).

Photobucket

5. We saw a fantastic juggling/fire eating show and this guy was so hilarious (and my camera rocks!).

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

6. We saw lots of faeries and sprites. They weren’t allowed to talk, but the communicated anyway by touching, pointing, smiling and nodding. The faeries were very fond of the little children and the children were very fascinated with the faeries.

Photobucket

Photobucket

This one was blowing these huge bubbles using her hand as a bubble wand.
Photobucket

This one actually “weaved” spider webs.
Photobucket

Here she was teaching the kids some string games
Photobucket

I think he’s a wood sprite
Photobucket

7. We stumbled across the Queen’s court where they were having lunch

Photobucket

8. The girls participated in the “knighting ceremony” and are now official “ladies” of Queen Elizabeth’s court. The Queen remembered the girls from the joust. That is almost 6 year old middle daughter in the photo below.

Photobucket

9. The girls listened to a great story about a unicorn and got “unicorn tears” to take home with them.

Photobucket

10. We saw artisans work their craft

Needle felting

Photobucket

Glass Blowing

Photobucket

11. And we had so much fun, we stayed until the Queen’s Parade at the end.

Photobucket

12. Best thing of all, the girls hardly complained even though we were there for, gee, 8 hours! And when we went home, we stopped at a highway “oasis” to get a quick dinner and kept seeing people who went to the Ren fair still dressed up in costume.

This entry was posted in Fantastic field trips. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The best Renaissance Fair ever!

  1. J-viere says:

    Awesome! I am so envious! Have never been to one, as I’ve never known of one to come close enough.

    Great photos too, KC. Yes, your camera is awesome but the camera operator deserves all the credit.

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thanks J-viere!

    The Bristol Ren Fair is about 1.5 hours away from us. We are so lucky that it is a drivable distance and even though it means we are in the car for 3 hours, it was well worth the trip.

    I was so grateful the girls enjoyed themselves too. J thought they might be too young to get anything out of it, but they all thought it was a blast.

    As far as the photos go, I guess after taking a million of them, you kind of get the feel for what will look good. The camera has an 18X zoom and auto focus, so most of the decisions are out of my hands. I really need to learn how to play with it a little more, but for now, I just the use automatic settings and just focus on what I want to have in the picture.

    Some of it is just pure luck, like when the juggler had the balls on his fingertips. I could not have PLANNED that.

  3. Phil says:

    I know I am a little late to the party, but wanted to comment at how terrific the pictures are. Living a piece of history come to life in front of your very eyes, and actually participating in it is far, far richer and much more memorable than lessons you get from reading or talking about it in a classroom. I’m sure the young ladies of the Queen Elizabeth’s Court will carry with them this experience for quite some time.

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    I love re-enactments. I have taken the girls to the Ren Faire twice. We will go again this summer.

    Re-enactment season starts this month. Indian Pow-Wow, Civil War Days, Pioneer Harvest Days. So much excitement and fun and we always learn something new.

    I think it’s just as memorable and educational for me as it is for them. And I enjoy talking to the reenactors…some of them are so knowledgeable of their history.

  5. rick strother says:

    im glad to hear that all of you enjoyed the bristol faire! i was in the cast for 2 years about 10 years ago and it was the time of my life and i hope you all will come to the faire this year-2012, as im in the cast for the 25th anniversary this year and hope to see all of you there as ill be one of the queens yeoman-come up to me and say hello and you saw my comments on the internet but nothing is like actually being in the cast itself, its a great time and experience and you make alot of new friends that will last a lifetime as i have!

  6. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Rick –

    Thanks for stopping by. Yes, we will make it up there again. We try to go at least once a year, there’s always something new to see/experience.

    I’ll do my best to find you. I’m glad you enjoyed being in the cast. I wanted so much to be a part of it, unfortunately, I lived too far away to make it out every weekend. But I’m sure it would have been amazing fun.

    Good luck this year and we’ll hopefully see you.

    Casey

Leave a Reply

