Starved Rock

For my birthday, I decided I was going to make good on my promise to go to Starved Rock State Park. It took us two hours to get there, but it was well worth it. We need to go back in the fall to see the colors change and the spring when there’s more water in the waterfalls.

I decided to take my dear husband and our puppy while we left the kids at grandmas. The day was absolutely beautiful, a cool and comfortable 70 degrees, which made it really nice, especially since we walked for miles, and climbed up and down stairs to go on to the trails that led to some beautiful places.

Photobucket

Starved Rock – picture taken from Lover’s Leap

Photobucket.

View of the Illinois River from on top of Starved Rock

Photobucket

This is a brief historical account of the stories behind Starved Rock and Lover’s Leap.

View from Eagle cliff with J and Tinkerbell – when we found out the park allowed dogs, we jumped at the chance to bring the Tinkerpup. We met about 30 other dogs that day. It seemed like everybody brought their dog and Tinkerbell was quite popular. We were frequently stopped to be asked about her.

Photobucket

Wildcat Canyon – ground level
Photobucket

Me up after climbing a cliff trail in Wildcat Canyon to take a picture of a rock formation.

Photobucket

Wildcat Canyon – from above

Photobucket

Wildcat Canyon – closeup of waterfall from above (gotta love the 18X zoom on my digital camera)

Photobucket

Going into French Canyon – because it was July, there wasn’t a whole lot of water coming down the falls. Apparently there’s more water in the springtime or after it rains.

Photobucket

French Canyon

Photobucket

I don’t remember where this was taken, but we stopped to rest and I snapped this one of my cutie hubby and our Tinkerbell

Photobucket

It was a wonderful trip but there are so many places we didn’t get to see. There are miles and miles of trails that lead to other canyons, but we were out there for four hours as it was, and it was time to get something to eat and go home.

The puppy slept in the car (she was such a trooper) and then we went home. It was a lovely, lovely time. When we got home, both me and the Tinkerpup slept for 12 hours straight.

This entry was posted in My photography, my stories, Pretty places, puppy. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Starved Rock

  1. Mom & Dad says:

    We hope you have a wonderful day, today & everyday.
    Happy Birthday to Our Beautiful Daughter.
    We Love you so very much.
    Embrace your life, with it’s ups & downs and ins & outs.
    Hold close, your husband and your children. No matter what happens in life, always try to hang on to an attitude of gratitude. We are all so blessed, daily.
    We will try to call this weekend
    Love you Always

  2. Jennaviere says:

    Oh wow! What a gorgeous place to spend a birthday! All your photos are great and I especially like the staircase one.

    Thanks so much for sharing this. (and mama, I can’t imagine that any photos of you suck, dear!) 🙂

  3. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thanks Mom and Dad…you always have great advice and yes, I’m grateful every day to be alive!

    I am so lucky to have a great husband and wonderful children. I spent some time the other night talking with J about how fortunate I was to have him and the girls and the life I have.

    I love you too and I will talk with you soon!

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Jennaviere –

    Thank you, but yes, I’m terribly unphotogenic. I could show you a few scary pictures, but I won’t. Also, I spent about 2 years with untreated rosacea – so I looked constantly sunburned, so I have many pictures of redness across my cheeks and nose.

    The staircase one was great to take a picture of, not so much fun to walk up!

    Actually, what I really love is the fact that this is close enough to visit without driving too far away.

    I hope we can go in the fall and visit the other canyons. I think the next time we go, we are going to leave the puppy. We were slowed down considerably by people inquiring about her.

  5. wsccbiology says:

    Hey lady! I posted something on my blog for you! 😉

  6. Jennaviere says:

    Hey, WSCC is me. I am so sorry! I didn’t notice I was logged in that way until too late.

  7. joanna says:

    Wow! What a beautiful place!

    I’m so glad to see what you look like. Gives me a little more courage to post my picture… maybe. Are you on FB?

  8. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Joanna – that’s not even all of it either, I’ve been researching it since I posted (yeah, after the fact!) and I read about more cool places to see. Dh and I have to go back!

    Unfortunately, no I’m not on FB. Everybody keeps asking me that, but I haven’t caved in yet.

  9. raisingsmartgirls says:

    It would be lovely to see you by the way!

  10. joanna says:

    Done! My mug’s now on my blog!

  11. raisingsmartgirls says:

    I just popped over to look at it like 2 seconds before you posted this! How ironic is that.

    I think you look great! I wish we could hang out and have coffee and chat while the kids play.

Leave a Reply

