I want new eyes please.

Oh squiggly line in my eye fluid. I see you lurking there on the peripheral of my vision.
But when I try to look at you, you scurry away.
Are you shy, squiggly line?
Why only when I ignore you, do you return to the center of my eye?
oh, squiggly line, it’s alright, you are forgiven. – Stewie Griffin

I’m slowly going blind. I’ve had glasses since I was 5, and I’m extremely myopic.

I have a new floater in my eye. The squiggly line has joined a little black dot. I see them best during the daytime. I try to ignore them because they remind me I’ve got bad vision problems and they are getting worse.

I have had blepheritis a number of times only to discover (not by my eye doctor, mind you, but because I researched it online and then confirmed by a dermatologist) was caused by ocular rosacea, but not before I had a chalazion that needed to be surgically removed. And yes, I was awake for the wonderful procedure, having them stick needles into my eyebrows was terrible and freakish before they flipped over my eyelid and cut out the chalazion from the underside.

To prevent them? Wash face with dandruff shampoo (yes, really, forget the baby shampoo, it’s not strong enough, and my dermatologist suggested it) and follow up with prescription metrogel cream on the face for the rosacea I have that is related to (the cause of) the ocular rosacea.

I also had the beginnings of a detached retina and had to undergo laser surgery to tack the part of the retina back down. That was fun. Get numbing drops in your eye and have a ocular magnifiying piece stuck in my eye. Then have sit forward and have fun getting lasered for 15 minutes while you watch a pretty bright green light flash in your eyeball and watch as you see the image of your network of blood vessels in your eye. It’s was a trippy (though not painful) experience.

Driving during the day is becoming obnoxious. The sun is too bright and I have trouble focusing on even large letters these days. My nighttime vision is going to hell too.

I’m going to turn 39 on Monday. I don’t mind the number of years, I really mind the deterioration of my eyes.

I wish I could get some eyeball transplants for my birthday. Please?

This entry was posted in my stories. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I want new eyes please.

  1. Mouse says:

    If I could wave a magic wand…

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thanks Mouse. I wish it were that easy!

    🙂

  3. Mr. RSG says:

    I thought you wanted “Big Bang Theory” on DVD!

    Can I get occular replacements at Best Buy?

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Hon – what’s the point of getting The Big Bang Theory for my b-day if I can’t watch it!

    By the way, will you still take care of me when I’m blind?

Leave a Reply

