This is how I want to be rememebered when I go

I recently read an incredibly poignant essay from a wonderfully articulate writer, Laurie Kendrick as she remembers and pays tribute to her friend on the second anniversary of his passing. I’ve been thinking of this essay ever since I read it a few days ago. To mean that much to your friends is priceless.

This is how I want to be remembered in the hearts of my friends and loved ones long after I die:

For Walter

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Oh, the comfort, the inexpressible comfort of feeling safe with a person; having neither to weigh thoughts nor measure words, but to pour them all out, just as they are, chaff and grain together, knowing that a faithful hand will take and sift them, keep what is worth keeping, and then, with a breath of kindness, blow the rest away.

~Dinah Maria (Mulock) Craik (often attributed to George Eliot)

Walter (what a handsome man you were), I hope you know that you were loved and how much you meant to your friend Laurie. I wish we could all have that kind of friendship.

This entry was posted in On friendship. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to This is how I want to be rememebered when I go

  1. I am touched Casey. Thank you so much.

    LK

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Laurie –

    No, dear…thank you! I’m touched by your writings.

Leave a Reply

