12 years ago today

And when my lips meet thine
Thy very soul is wedded unto mine

~ H.H. Boyesen

Photobucket

We chose to get married in a small chapel in the middle of the woods called The Wayside Chapel in a small non-denominational Christian service. My mother was upset that we didn’t choose a Catholic wedding, and informed us she wasn’t going to be in attendance and argued with me extensively about our choice of venue…until I chose a date that she actually would not be able to attend. Fortunately, she came to her senses and asked me to change the date. This was a good thing, because she ended up hosting the reception at her small banquet hall (she was a caterer and she actually cooked great food).

Front of chapel

We had 40 guests in attendance at the ceremony. The inside of the chapel was small, but very warm and lovely. In order to have our wedding on July 5, we had to have an 11 am service, since we started planning the wedding only 4 months prior to getting married (after an 18 month long engagement).

The inside of the chapel
Outside of the chapel (while that’s not our wedding, I’m pretty sure that’s the minister who married us.

I walked down the aisle to Pachelbel in D major and my long-time friend Roger read a beautiful excerpt from Khalil Gibran’s The Prophet for a reading:

Let there be spaces in your togetherness,

And let the winds of the heavens dance between you.

Love one another, but make not a bond of love:

Let it rather be a moving sea between the shores of your souls.

Fill each other’s cup but drink not from one cup.

Give one another of your bread but eat not from the same loaf.

Sing and dance together and be joyous, but let each one of you be alone,

Even as the strings of a lute are alone though they quiver with the same music.

Give your hearts, but not into each other’s keeping.

For only the hand of Life can contain your hearts,

And stand together yet not too near together;

For the pillars of the temple stand apart,

And the oak tree and the cypress grow not in each other’s shadow.

Our reception was also small (only 80 people) and it was also an early reception (at 2:30 in the afternoon), but it was lively and fun. My husband and I danced a choreographed dance for our first dance to Mark Knopfler’s A Storybook Love from one of our favorite movies, A Princess Bride.

We had many of our college friends in attendance, a close knit group of about 14. I had a few colleagues from my work at the crime lab in attendance. And, they all danced! Perhaps because it was an early reception and people weren’t that tired. Our friends had talked about how much fun our reception was for quite some time after that.

In fact, it was such a hit for two of our guests because the boy who caught the garter (G, a young man I dated for a very short time and lived with for 4 months while dating my husband – long story for another time), ended up marrying the girl who caught the bouquet at the bouquet toss (L, a young woman who was my husband’s ex-girlfriend) a few years after ours.

The reception ended by 8 pm, early enough for my husband and I to invite all of our college friends and a few of my colleagues to our old college hangout for a few drinks and more camaraderie. It was a blast – me in my wedding gown, he in his tux and our friends just having a great time before we set off for our hotel for the night.

Yeah, that was probably one of the BEST weddings in the HISTORY of weddings. We’d gone to several of our college friends’ weddings in the years that followed, but we really never did end up having as much fun as we did at our own wedding.

This entry was posted in my stories. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to 12 years ago today

  1. Papa T says:

    Happy Anniversary!

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thank you. We are hopefully going to celebrate next weekend because this weekend was busy with other family obligations.

    I hope one of the grandmas will babysit so that we can have an overnight trip somewhere.

  3. Papa T says:

    Celebration can occur in many different forms. The challenge is in learning to see and enjoy the forms that don’t precisely fit our expectations. I would say that this post represents quite a beautiful celebration.

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Yeah, I do enjoy remembering our wedding. It is one of the most fond memories I have. It was a day of perfect weather, one of the more beautiful settings I’ve seen for weddings if I may say so myself, and one of the more wonderful receptions I’ve been to because it was very fairy-tale like and very quaint.

  5. Papa T says:

    Celebratory reminiscence…even I can enjoy that.

  6. teachingyoungchildren says:

    Happy anniversary! It’s funny – our dance was to A Storybook Love too. I don’t think it’s coincidental 😀

  7. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thanks TYC. We absolutely adore A Princess Bride.

    The other favorite of mine is Ever After, most especially because Drew Barrymore’s Cinderella punched one of the step-sisters! I yelled out loud when I saw that seen for the first time.

  8. Jennaviere says:

    I must agree with Papa T…
    to celebrate your anniversary,
    you’ve writ a might fine stor-ey.
    A lovely read indeed, Casey.
    🙂

  9. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thanks Jennaviere. I think you are a poet, and I didn’t know it!

    You made me smile.

Leave a Reply

