Some very cool experiments for kids planned

It probably comes as no surprise to my readers that I love science. Chemisty, physics, biology, astronomy – it doesn’t matter. I love doing science experiments with my girls. I took a hiatus from it for about a month because I just was kind of tapped out but now I’m ready to get back into neat science projects again. I’ve just printed out a few really nifty little experiments to try with my girls.

If you are looking for some easy and interesting projects to try this summer with you kids, you can check out my other blog at The Exploration Station. In the coming weeks, I will be adding a lot more experiments to the blog. I’m so excited about what we have planned.

Also, if you know of any science for kids blogs, please let me know. I’m always looking to see what other parents like to do with their kids. A lot of my inspiration comes from other families that do interesting science projects.

Thanks and be sure to check out my other blog!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Some very cool experiments for kids planned

  1. teachingyoungchildren says:

    I am looking forward to more projects on your other blogs. I admit that even though I am reading your musings on this blog, I find it difficult to connect to all of your angst. My own opinion of the giftedness is that it really doesn’t matter whether you are classified as gifted. It’s a lot more important what you have to show for it.

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    I realize not everything I have to say is going to connect with everyone. And that’s okay.

    But ultimately, giftedness it’s NOT AT ALL what you have to show for it – that’s an incredibly limited view of what giftedness is. It’s not at all about achievement, and all about how you experience the world and most of it is an intense experience.

    I ended up creating another post out of this and it’s here:

    https://raisingsmartgirls.wordpress.com/2009/07/04/so-what-is-giftedness-really/

    The reason why I chose to address it in it’s own post is because I don’t know how many people actually read the comments of others, and also because I want my readers to understand why I have angst and why I complain about my situation here. I want people to know I’m not just bitching because I get my jollies off it. I actually don’t want to be and would rather prefer to talk about something more exciting…but it is something that I need to process and deal with – the boredom of an understimulating environment.

  3. Papa T says:

    Very interesting…

    I wonder if there might be some validity on both “sides” of this exchange…if maybe we are seeing (reading) two gifted people attempting to speak from different perspectives…if maybe we might miss some synergistic realization by allowing the exchange to turn into a confrontational thing rather than a communicative thing.

    My guess is that Teachingyoungchildren (TYC) is either gifted or has a heart for the gifted (either way, s/he is a special person)…otherwise I doubt that s/he would be reading all of Mrs. RSG’s writing (or any of it, for that matter). The suggestion that “it really doesn’t matter whether you are classified as gifted” is plausible. I also see some qualified plausibility in “It’s a lot more important what you have to show for it” as well. I can also relate to Mrs. RSG’s response: “…it’s NOT AT ALL what you have to show for it,” but with qualification. Allow me to qualify…

    It IS important what one has “to show for it” when we speak of giftedness. It is important to ME what I have to show for it…to come to a peace about who and what I am…to stop trying to figure out why I was born in the wrong century, to the wrong family, in the wrong country, or on the wrong planet. It is important to me that I connect with my gift(s) and–at the very least–have something to show my Self for it. Now, will this realization or “self-actualization” equate to “achievement?” Probably not. At least not in the terms of the “normal” ones (normative, or statistical norm). BUT…there is a good possibility that my actualization could result in some “super-achievement.” Or, something that is so odd that it will not be recognized as normal achievement.

    Being labeled as gifted is one thing…it is not a ticket for a free ride…I cannot plop down on my laurels and say “Leave me alone. I am gifted.” In that sense, I would agree with TYC. I am not going to “use” my giftedness (labeled/diagnosed or not) as an excuse to avoid achievement. So, in one sense, I would agree that it is not at all what one has to show for it–as in normative achievement. But, in another sense, I would say that it is VERY MUCH what one has to show for it–as in self-actualization.

    Perhaps Mrs. RSG knows much more of TYC than I, but on the basis of TYC’s response, it is not possible to know whether s/he is unsympathetic to the plight of the gifted. [My guess is that s/he is sympathetic.] That TYC “find[s] it difficult to connect with all of [RSG’s] angst” is not particularly egregious. TYC says “difficult” and “all”…not “impossible” and/or “any.” I doubt that ANY person will EVER connect with ALL of my angst. I don’t think I would wish that on anyone.

    Now I guess I’ll go look at “So What is Giftedness Anyway?”

    Each breath is a gift. Enjoy…

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thanks for the thoughts Papa T.

    I hope that other post clarifies things about what I mean when I say:” it’s not (just) about what you achieve, but the perception (and challenges) that gifted individuals can face as a result of their intense needs.

    I’m not just thinking in terms of myself, but in terms of my children too, especially my dd2, who, with her severe social anxieties, has needed a lot more assistance to get along in life because of her advanced cognitive abilities being more advanced of her emotional self-regulation ones.

    I don’t have high expectations for my girls to have something to show for their giftedness unless they themselves choose to want it. At the same time, I must consider how they relate to others in their lives.

    My daughter’s selective mutism would have come between her and having healthy relationships in school and in life. Her selective mutism isn’t at all a mental illness or a indicative of a learning disability. In her case, it was developmental asynchrony. Her perceptions of the world around her were so intense that she reflexively shut down her speech to cope.

    Because of her, I spent a lot of time examining the emotional needs of the gifted and realized that there can be significant ones. I want to be well-equipped to help them handle what comes their way.

    As far as expecting everyone who comes to read my blog to understand about everything what I’ve gone through, I surely don’t (and find no problem with the first part of the original comment). But it’s important to me to periodically talk about the issues I struggle with, with regards to them, and with regards to myself.

    Most of the parenting choices I’ve made once dd2 got her diagnosis were based on research about what works best for highly sensitive children and what will work best for her.

    I feel oddly alone when I try to explain my parenting choices to other parents (including my family). It’s weird. I’m seen as permissive by highly authoritarian parents, and seen as too strict by permissive parents. I don’t find any that actually use authoritative parenting approaches.

    Hardly anyone I know actually researches parenting practices. They just use whatever worked for someone else, or something they read in a parenting magazine or something their pediatrician told them to use without actually finding out if it was appropriate for their child.

    So, yeah…it bothers me a bit when people ignore the emotional needs of their children – gifted or not, but especially so the highly sensitive gifted children. For me, for my family, it’s far more important to address the emotional needs. Not just in the kids, but in my husband and in myself as well. Because if we are failing to address our own needs, it has a trickle down effect on the kids.

    That’s why I spend a tremendous amount of time and energy writing and talking about gifted issues on my blog. To prevent the gross misunderstandings of what they might be going through. Only time will tell what they really can do with it. But so far, my first grade daughter reading with comprehension 6th grade books is impressing the heck out of the teachers at school. They seem to thing she’s got something to show for it. And I want to keep that nurtured.

  5. raisingsmartgirls says:

    On an unrelated note, I do have a new experiment on the Exploration Station Blog.

  6. Jennaviere says:

    Sure, being labeled doesn’t make any difference at all. But, being gifted and having nothing to show for it (because your attention is being pulled from too many directions at once, or because you cant find enough resources to fully satiate your interest) causes the most terrible angst.

    So, Casey, you’ll appreciate that I have planned a “dissection party” with my 8-year-old son and 10-year-old neice this weekend (she gave it the distinction of being named such). I have various leftover parts from the anatomy labs! Woo hoo!

  7. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Jennaviere –

    Yeah, not enough resources to satiate my interests happen over here quite a lot.

    A dissection party! How cool is that? What kind of parts do you get to dissect with the kids?

    Are you going to blog about it? That would be kinda neat if you can.

  8. Jennaviere says:

    Oh yeah! I’ll be blogging about it! I have sheep brains and a cow heart. We’ll see what else I can find laying around the classrooms when no one’s looking….

    🙂

Leave a Reply

