Just cause I want to help infect some people too.

This isn’t totally against my effort to be balanced. I printed off my blog posts for the month of June so I can add them to my hard copy back-up. I’m going to need a bigger binder, though. I’m going to use them to help me determine what I want/need to do to create the right balance in my life, and hopefully figure out where I want to go from here. I am planning on taking at least one class in the fall, and I need to decide what.

I just had to share a wonderful post from my friend Jennaviere over at Cogitation posted on Friday. It’s called The Most Infectious Agent of All. Because it’s so wonderful, I had to help spread some of this contagion. I think we all could use a hefty dose of it.

This entry was posted in spreading joy. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Just cause I want to help infect some people too.

  1. Jennaviere says:

    Wonderful! Thank you.

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    You’re welcome! And THANK YOU! Your photos brought back some memories for me.

  3. J-viere says:

    Have you decided yet what class you’ll take? Are you adding on a degree or looking for something to feed your brain?

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Well, that’s just it. I’ve got a BS. in biotechnology. I’m not convinced either way if I want to try to get back into the lab. I’m also not sure I’ve got the stamina to get a Master’s degree.

    I’ve always been practical too, so not having a “fall back” for these past 5 years if Mr RSG ever got laid off again is bothersome.

    I took a human development class a few years back. It was interesting, mildly challenging (but only because I had to figure out how to study with a nursing toddler and take care of needy preschoolers).

    I just might be inclined to try taking a medical microbiology class if they are offering it again this fall (they only offer it every other year). It’s a class I haven’t had before (just gen microbiology and food microbiology), so it wouldn’t be like I was repeating it. And if I ever decided to try to go into a med tech lab (like I’d considered from time to time), it might be a way to both feed my brain as well as be useful in the future.

    If it’s offered this fall, I might have to take it as a sign that I need to take the class.

  5. Jennaviere says:

    Virology has become my latest obsession.

    I know this means my MDC/NFL member card has been revoked, but the more I study microbiology and virology, the more I feel led in the direction of research, maybe even vaccine research. Of course, it helps that I know someone who does just that, so I have the opportunity from time to time to ask questions and get brilliant answers.
    Nothing would give me so much meaning in my life as to be able to help sick people from dying, or prevent sickness in the first place. It’s funny… when my mom was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis when I was just a kid, I recall everyone saying “J will grow up to be a researcher and find a cure for MS!” because at that point, I had already declared I would grow up to be a scientist (I’m not sure I even knew what type or how many types there were, just always said “scientist”).

    Then I forgot about it for many years and through three changes of major. (ooh, that’s embarrasing, did I just admit that?) Now here I have arrived full circle right back to it again, and it’s the first time I’ve had the pleasure of knowing what “a good fit” feels like. And there’s been a lot of *syncronicity* surrounding it too, which I meant to write about a week or so ago when you first posted about the topic. I could name a few people and situations that have been the impetus for my new direction, and I count you and your blog as one.

    So, now I shall endeavor to give back to you in whatever small or seemingly insignificant way possible — for now I will do this by simply nagging you about moving forward to find ways to feed the hungry bear in your head!!

    So go have a look then! Most school schedules are out already. 🙂

  6. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Jennaviere – I need to amend my post above…but one of the things I liked most about science was the fact that there is a bit of creativity needed.

    I mean, I was really good at perfecting my skills so that I created good resolution on electrophoresis gels and so that I could good results.

    It was fun for me to work on the lab work. It was a tedious at times, but it always was for a good cause and it was still creating something from basic materials. Unlike housework that is tedious and not lasting.

  7. Papa T says:

    “Unlike housework that is tedious and not lasting.”

    Hmm…

  8. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Yeah…the girls bedrooms and my bathroom stays clean for about a 1/2 day, my kitchen for a 1/3 of a day, and the laundry is NEVER done. Nothing lasts long enough to get a sense of accomplishment.

Leave a Reply

