Getting to know you all a little bit better.

I’ve been thinking of all my lovely internet friends (who seem to be highly intelligent, information junkies and/or highly creative/highly sensitive like me) who’ve reached out to me in recent months. I really wish I could build a real-life community of my own making with you all included (and any new ones who care to join me). I would love to go out for a drink and have great conversations with you.

I was thinking that it would be superb to ask a few questions so that others can know a little about you.

  • What do you do for your job?
  • What work feeds your souls (this may be identical to your job, but if so, then you are a lucky creature)?
  • What intellectual topics fascinate you and want to learn more about?
  • What are your hobbies?

You can either create a blog post about it, or you can simply comment here if you’d like.  No rush about this.

If you don’t want to play, no worries.   I just thought it would be fun.

I’ll go first.

My job?
Currently stay at home mother of 3 and nurturer of healthy human development. Formerly medical genetics lab supervisor, forensic DNA expert, and food micriobology lab rat extraordinaire.

The work that feeds my soul?

Writing,  music (you can read this post about The Soundtrack of My Life to get an idea), relating to others meaningfully, helping others

Intellectual areas/topics – there are many:

  • science (anything really – astronomy, biochemistry/genetics/microbiology, physics, chemistry, geology)
  • mathematics (mostly just discovering all the cool things about math that the teachers forgot to show to us way back when – like finding the fibonacci sequence pattern in nature).
  • brain function/dysfunction
  • sensory processing functions and SPD
  • variations of sensory perception (synesthesia, dyscalculia)
  • selective mutism
  • education and learning
  • philosophy
  • psychology
  • human development
  • human behavior
  • gifted issues

Hobbies

  • Writing (and writing and writing), relating to others meaningfully
  • Reading for personal research (but trying hard to read more for pleasure)
  • Photography
  • Sewing
  • Teaching my kids neat stuff about math/science
  • Making handmade toys

The above is exactly the reason I have trouble deciding what I should be doing next. I know I’m doing what I need to be doing now, which is write (this is a good thing).

Okay, now your turn.

If I had the time/patience to figure out how to do a Mr. Linky I would do that. Does anyone know a quick wordpress tutorial I could figure out how to do this.

****
I’m having a miserable time trying to figure out this Mr. Linky for wordpress. Seems to be that certain things need to be modified that are going to make this difficult.

This entry was posted in On friendship. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Getting to know you all a little bit better.

  1. joanna says:

    Good idea! I’ll do this on my blog soon. I’d love to know more about the people who read my blog too.

  2. J-viere says:

    Ooooh! A project!

    However, you’ve caused my cheeks to crinkle up into an incredulous grin because as I read I realized I might have to just copy and paste all your responses for my own! Tomorrow I’ll work on putting my own unique spin on them.

    Ya know… we’re gonna get along *just fine*!!!!! 🙂

    (or horribly)

  3. J-viere says:

    Here’s a start: http://verbosejenna.blogspot.com/2009/05/mothers-day-and-defenestration-of-folk.html

    You’ve inspired me to start putting some of my hidden posts back up.

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thanks girls…I was a little nervous about posting this, worried nobody wanted to play along.

    I’m so happy I’ve “met” my online friends.

  5. Papa T says:

    I’ll play…let me cogitate on it a bit.

  6. Papa T says:

    Wow…THAT was weird. I wrote that brief response and then clicked on J-viere’s link. Bam…COGITATION!

  7. raisingsmartgirls says:

    PapaT

    As soon as I read your “cogitate” comment, I immediately thought of J-viere’s blog.

    I love it when “coincidences” happen. But I don’t believe that some things that happen to us are merely coincidences…but that’s for another post.

  8. Papa T says:

    Yeah, Mrs. RSG…I get what you are saying about the coincidence/synchronicity thing. We could get bogged down in the semantics…but I won’t “go there.”

    For me the “heart of the matter” relates to “meaning.” Or, “What did that event–as unlikely as it may or may not have been–mean to me (and or other “participants”)?” Does that make any sense?

    I think Jung is known to have used the term “meaningful coincidence” in his definition of synchronicity.

    Meaning is so…well…meaningful.

  9. raisingsmartgirls says:

    I see what you are saying. Perhaps coincidence is not the precise term, but there is a distinct difference in

    “random stuff happens and we don’t know why so why bother thinking about it/learning from it”

    and

    “stuff happens but there is a reason for it and it served a purpose in our lives, let’s find out what”

    Would you suggest another term for “random, meaningless events” then?

    I’m open to learning the distinctions in words.

    I spent quite a bit of time googling the precise term for what I meant. coincidence is perhaps not right.

    What word/phrase would you choose?

  10. Papa T says:

    PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE don’t take my comment as any harsh criticism. What you are sharing is wonderful and beautiful. I don’t mean to/don’t want to detract from its beauty by quibbling over words.

    [My mind/soul is having some difficulty getting intelligible stuff out “onto paper” (or monitor) right now. Hi, boys and girls. Can you say OE? Sure, I knew you could. (I sometimes miss Mr. Rogers)]

    I believe that often the wonder of experiences–and the open, surprised, spontaneous sharing of them–is “lost” in our quest for definition. [“Defining” is all about drawing lines and setting limits.]

    IF some fitting word or phrase rises in my awareness, I’ll share it with you. ‘Til then, just keep spouting the wonder!

  11. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thank you for replying. I needed to hear that.

  12. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Possibly.

    Papa T, what do you think?

  13. Jennaviere says:

    I haven’t forgotten about this — I still want to play.

    Re: cogitation… I am thrilled — in a way that would embarrass most people — that someone besides me even uses that word!! Weeeee!

    I have tomorrow off so I will work on this! Talking about oneself is always great fun, no? 🙂

  14. raisingsmartgirls says:

    No, worries, there’s plenty of time. I’d like to figure out how to keep this post easily accessed. I might have to figure out if I could put it in my sidebar.

    It’s awesome fun to remind oneself of how great one really is.

    No, seriously, it’s good to take stock of one’s strengths and passions!

  15. Papa T says:

    If you wish to lower yourself in a person’s favor, one good way is to tell his story over again, the way you heard it.

    – Mark Twain, Notebook, 1898

    Twain…ya gotta love him.

    : )

Leave a Reply

