Synesthesia

Ever since I heard of the concept of synesthesia (or blended senses) about a year ago, I’ve been fascinated by the concept. I actually found myself thinking it would be cool to have something like that. I’m not sure why, except that I just think it’s a really unique thing to have.

According to Wikipedia,

Synesthesia is a neurologically based phenomenon in which stimulation of one sensory or cognitive pathway leads to automatic, involuntary experiences in a second sensory or cognitive pathway.

Like most everything that catches my curiosity, I always investigate things. But after a year of searching, I finally found someone who actually HAS the condition and who put together a pretty amazing account of what it was like to have it and how it all came about.

Jennaviere at Cogitation has given much thought and description into what it has been like for her to have synesthesia that I had to share it with others. Pretty interesting stuff and a great read.

This entry was posted in intellectual stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Synesthesia

  1. J-viere says:

    Hey there! Thanks for talking about one of my very favorite subjects! I hope anyone who wanders over to my post about synesthesia goes away informed and intrigued. Please ask questions! Please leave comments. We “synners” love to educate!

    Many thanks!!!

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Many your welcomes back. I’m so glad you posted on it because it sure is fascinating! And I love your descriptions of your experience with it. Wonderful story-telling!

Leave a Reply

