If you can’t do, teach

I know I feel sad and have talked about it quite in length about not working in the science field, but staying at home does have it’s advantages, I must say.

These are some of the cool things we’ve done:

Jello Fiber Optics

pH indicator out of red cabbage.

And today’s latest:

Chemistry with pennies

Who would notice the little things like I do and take pictures?

My 4 year old daughter did this

Photobucket

My 5 year old daughter did this
Photobucket

My 7 year old daughter did this

Photobucket

To anyone else, this wouldn’t be any big deal. But to me, it means a lot. Why, I’m not sure. Is it because girls are supposed to play with dollies and play dress up and they decidedly like building things too? Is it because they are creatively using materials for other purposes that their original purpose, or because they are developing executive function skills (because it takes patience to build these things), or because they are developing spatial awareness? I think it’s a little bit all of it.

I’m grateful to be watching them unfold firsthand, and teach them a few things while I’m here.

This entry was posted in combining science and motherhood, perspective, raising smart girls and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

