A space of my own…

I have been on a huge decluttering spree – bagging up a lot of our excess stuff and donating it. I have been working hard lately and have done some good work in my bedroom.

My tiny (10×10) bedroom again looks like this:

From the doorway
Photobucket

My dresser
Photobucket

Because I was able to get rid of lots of the excess, I was able to make room for a lovely writing desk, purchased at a local consignment store. And it came with a very pretty chair as well.

Photobucket

Closeup of the desk

Photobucket

Closeup of the detail on the chair

Photobucket

View of dh’s dresser with the side view of the desk.

Photobucket

I just love having a desk where I can write, work on my goals (for the home, for the kids, and for myself) and just have a spot where I can retreat to.

I absolutely adore my bedroom too, with its warm sage green on the walls and my bed and bedding. It’s just so peaceful in there and it makes me so happy. I just had to share.

This entry was posted in creative space and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A space of my own…

  1. graceunbound says:

    OOh, I love your bedroom! It is so pretty! I need to figure out how to turn mine from plain brown box into relaxing sanctuary like that.

  2. raisingsmartgirls says:

    It took a while and a few transformations. I at first wanted it a brown color, but the paint color turned out more mauv-y. It was kinda weird, but we went with it for about a year. The quilt set I found at Target years ago, but haven’t found it again.

    A lot of the little things on my dresser came from discount stores over time – like TJ Maxx and Tuesday Morning. It took me the longest time to find a nice mirrored tray. It has little roses on the corners.

    I’ve lived in this house about 7 years, but it’s only looked this nice about the past year or so (but more often a lot more cluttered).

  3. katiekind says:

    Beautiful! Good work!

    What color are your bedroom walls? I really like that. I’ve already been planning to paint our guest room some kind of sage green, but of course once you get to the paint store there are 250 shades and tones of “sage green”. It gets confusing!

  4. raisingsmartgirls says:

    Thank you.

    I will have to try to remember where I put the can of paint. It might be in the bathroom closet, or somewhere downstairs. When I do, I’ll let you know. It really is a nice shade of sage green.

    I feel serene in my room and it really is lovely in person.

  5. Pingback: A space of my own…part II « Raising Smart Girls

Leave a Reply

