Kicking around Chicago for our anniversary

My husband and I celebrated 11 years of marriage together on July 5th. We didn’t get each other gifts this year, but instead opted to spend an overnighter in Chicago on July 4th.

I can’t tell you how nice it was to get away just for a little bit from home (grandma fortunately took the girls for a two days). I think the best thing we eve did was to take the train into the city and walked around to get where we wanted to go. We got a hotel on the Magnificent Mile (at the Hard Rock Hotel), browsed some shops (no, we aren’t Nordstrom types, but they have a great LEGO store filled with sculptures made of Legos), took in some of the fabulous architecture like the Tribune Tower and the Wrigley Building.

Around dinner time, we walked to Navy Pier to get dinner at Riva where we had exquisitely plated seafood dishes, watched the fireworks, then walked down the Chicago River walk and took in the beautiful architecture at night. It was a beautiful night. We woke up lazily Saturday morning, ate breakfast at South Water Kitchen at the Hotel Monaco around the corner from our hotel, and walked the few blocks to Millennium Park and then spent some time at the Art Institute Museum before we headed home.

Even though the Taste of Chicago was going on during our time there, we opted against it since we’d already been done in by the crowds at Navy Pier on Friday night.

Here’s some pictures:

The Hard Rock Hotel located within the Carbide and Carbon Building (here is a full view picture)

Our view from the hotel room (that’s a picture of Marina City on the Chicago River):
Photobucket

The Wrigley building on the left, and the Chicago Tribune tower on the right:

Photobucket

One of many special bricks from the Tribune tower:

Photobucket

A King Tut head made from Legos:

Photobucket

A photo of one of my favorite paintings (maybe because I’m not the only one with a big butt?):

A Sunday on La Grande Jatte by Georges Seurat

Photobucket

(that’s me on the left – and some other guy I don’t know).

This was a much needed break from reality. I absolutely adore Chicago, having worked there for 7 years and I miss it a lot. But more than missing the work, I really miss kicking around the city with friends – having lunch and dinner with colleagues in this beautiful city of ours. It was really wonderful to share it with my husband though. My husband now occasionally goes into the city, but generally never has time to really appreciate the city’s treasures. I was glad to have the chance to show my husband all the things others had been able to show me. It was a grand way to spend an anniversary.

We spent some much needed time together, and even though we make intimacy a priority in our marriage, it sure was nice to not have to sneak around to do it and hope the kids don’t interrupt. And oddly enough, even though we were on the 13th floor (which I didn’t think existed in buildings), we didn’t have any bad luck. In fact, we both got lucky that night, if you know what I mean, nudge, nudge, wink, wink. 🙂

This entry was posted in my stories. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

